Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Captain Amarinder Singh to take oath as Chief Minister Punjab on March 16

Monday March 13, 2017 4:13 PM, & Agencies

Amarinder Singh

Captain Amarinder Singh, who led the Congress party to a sweeping victory in Punjab, will take oat as Chief Minister of Punjab on Thursday March 16, 2017.

Amarinder Singh, who has been Chief Minister of Punjab from 2002-2007, met the Governor on Sunday and staked the claim to form the Congress government in the state.

"We have staked claim to form the next government. The swearing in will take place on March 16," Amarinder said while talking to the media after his meeting with the Governor.

Congress had won 77 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly elections counting of which were held on Saturday March 11.

The newly elected Congress MLAs met on Sunday to elect the Congress Legislative Party (CLP) leader and authorised Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi to take a decision on the new leader.

Rahul Gandhi later proposed the name of Amarinder Singh as the new CLP leader and the Congress MLAs subsequently unanimously elected Amarinder as their leader by a show of hands.

Akali Dal and BJP were ruling Punjab since last ten years. They however lost the 2017 election together winning just 18 of the total 117 seats in the state.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), contesting the Punjab Assembly elections for the first time, came second in the state winning 20 seats, Two seats went to the Lok Insaaf Party.


Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of