Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » World
Msheireb Mosque Qatar, Sheikha Salama Mosque UAE and Arcapita Mosque Bahrain win architecture award

Tuesday March 14, 2017 11:05 AM, & Agencies

Msheireb Mosque

Three mosques from the Arabian Gulf have won awards for their architecture. Msheireb mosque in Qatar, the Sheikha Salama Mosque in the UAE city of Al-Ain, and the Arcapita Mosque in Bahrain were all recognized by the Abdullatif Al-Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture.

Prince Khaled Al-Faisal, adviser to King Salman and governor of Makkah, and Prince Sultan bin Salman, president of the Saudi Commission for Tourism and National Heritage and chairman of the award’s board of trustees, on Sunday honored the three winners at the Jeddah Hilton, according to Arab News.

The awards, in their second cycle, received nominations for 122 mosques from the region.

The award prize of SR2 million was distributed among the three winners, from the SR60 million endowment that funds the award.

Prince Sultan said the main aims of the awards are to strengthen the relationship between the mosque and the community, as well as to motivate architects to enhance designs, with a focus on sustainable architecture, energy-saving features, lighting optimization and architecture that adds to the community.

The next edition of the awards, the third, will be open to mosques from the wider Muslim world.

Prince Sultan added that mosques play important roles in the life of Muslim communities, as places of worship and sources of tranquility and serenity, as well as places for social gatherings, bringing communities closer together.

Dr. Ibrahim Al-Naimi, secretary-general of the award, said the Abdullatif Al-Fozan Award has become a platform that raises awareness on the contemporary architecture of the mosque. It also aims to raise awareness of best practices for the design, construction, and upkeep of mosques.



Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of