Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Biren Singh takes oath as Chief Minister Manipur, NPP's Joykumar sworn-in his deputy

Wednesday March 15, 2017 6:38 PM, & Agencies

Biren Singh

Imphal (Manipur):
The first BJP-led government in Manipur was sworn-in on Wednesday as Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Nongthombam Biren Singh. NPP's Y. Joykumar also took oath as Deputy Chief Minister.

Biren Singh, a former Congressman who joined the BJP only in October last year, was sworn in as the Chief Minister along with his Council of Ministers.

The BJP has formed government in Manipur in alliance with small regional parties and is expected to reward them for their support with Cabinet posts.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated N Biren Singh on taking oath as Chief Minister of Manipur.

“Congratulations to N Biren Singh and his team on taking oath. I am sure this team will work tirelessly towards Manipur’s development,” the Prime Minister said.

The BJP, which has won 21 seats, has claimed it has the support of 33 legislators in the 60-member Manipur assembly. It needs 31 for a majority.

The Congress, which won the most seats, 28, emerged as the single largest party in Manipur after recently concluded state elections. The party accused the BJP of using "money power" to form the government.

The Congress was ruling Manipur since last 15 years.


Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of