Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
AIMIM Bhiwandi President accuses Owaisi of playing communal politics, resigns with entire body

Thursday March 16, 2017 11:10 PM, Staff Reporter

Asaduddin Owaisi
[AIMIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi addressing a rally. (File photo)]

Bhiwandi (Maharashtra): Accusing Party Chief Asaduddin Owaisi and his younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi of playing "communal politics" and dividing "secular votes", the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) Bhiwandi Unit President Abrar Ansari, along with the entire local unit, resigned from the primary membership of the party.

Addressing a press conference on Tuesday, Ansari also accused the top party leadership of failing to maintain discipline in the party.

"After working day in and day out for four years, we realised that there is no discipline in the party, and the party works against the principles it talks about", Ansari said.

He also said that the AIMIM top leadership was inciting the Muslims through their "emotional outbursts".

"Top AIMIM leadership is playing "communal politics" and through emotional speeches misleading and inciting the Muslims. This is a threat for communal harmony and Ganga-Jamani culture of the country", he said.

The rebellion by the AIMIM Bhiwandi local unit is a setback for Asaduddin Owaisi as the City of Powerloom is due for the civic elections in April.

Though the AIMIM won just 02 seats in recently concluded Mumbai Civic Elections, the party performed fairly well in Thane and Mumbra, and also won seats in Kalyan-Dombivali local elections.

None of the AIMIM top leaders were available for a response over open revolt against the party leadership by its Bhiwandi unit.


Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of