Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Education & Career
JEE Advanced 2018: Govt directs IITs to issue Supplementary Merit List

Thursday June 14, 2018 12:11 PM, News Network

JEE Advanced 2018 Merit List

New Delhi: In a late-night directions on Wednesday, the Human Resource Development (HRD) Ministry asked the Indian Institute of Technology (IITs) to release a Supplementary Merit List for admission before choice-filling for joint seat allocation for IITs and NITs starts on June 15, 2018.

The government directive comes as the number of candidates who qualified the exam has always been at least twice the number of seats on offer. This year, however, the 18,138 students on the merit list are only 1.6 times the total seats, making it the smallest number of qualified candidates since 2012.

This is the first time that the cut-off marks will be revised after the declaration of results. According to sources, this directive has gone to ensure the government’s policy, that all reserved category seats should be filled, is not compromised, according to Indian Express.

The IITs had met on Wednesday to discuss concerns whether there are enough qualified candidates to fill all the seats this year, but decided against tweaking the cut-off marks for JEE-Advanced, at that point. However, now another meeting of the Joint Admission Board or JAB is scheduled to take place today, in wake of government’s late night direction on Wednesday, Indian Express said in its report.

IIT Kanpur declared the result of JEE Advanced 2018 on Sunday June 10. While the cut of this year stood at 74, JEE Advanced 2018 was topped by Pranav Goyal who obtained 337 marks out of 360 marks and secured All India Rank - AIR 1. On the other hand, All India Rak 2 (AIR 2) is grabbed by Sahil Jain of Kota, Rajasthan. Sahil is also Delhi Zone topper. Delhi's Kailash Gupta secured AIR 3.

The IIT Kanpur had earlier said that the online Registration and Choice Filling for seat allocation conducted by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) for admission to various institutions including IITs, NITs, IIEST, IIITs and Other-GFTIs for the academic year 2018-19 will start from Friday June 15, 2018 at 10:00 am.

"The last date for online registration and choice filling will end on June 25, 2018 at 05:00 pm", IIT Kanpur said in an official notification detailing the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2018 schedule.

"Display of Mock Seat Allocation-1 based on the choices filled-in by candidates as on June 18, 2018, 17:00 pm will be done on June 19, 2018. Display of Mock Seat Allocation-2 based on the choices filled-in by candidates as on June 23, 2018, 17:00 pm will be done on June 24", IIT Kanpur said.

The first round of Seat Allotment will be held on June 27, 2018 whereas the first round reporting for Seat Acceptance will be done from June 28 to July 02, 2018, according to the schedule released by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2018 on its official website.

The official website for Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) is

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of