Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Hours after joining BJP for RS ticket, Naresh Agarwal slammed by senior party leaders

Monday March 12, 2018 11:39 PM, News Network

Sushma Swaraj

New Delhi: Hours after he joined the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) former Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Naresh Agarwal was slammed by Sushma Swaraj , Roopa Ganguly and other party leaders for his insulting remark against Jaya Bachchan.

Union External Minister and one of the senior most BJP leaders Sushma Swaraj lashed out at Naresh Agarwal who while addressing a press conference called to announce his induction into the party described Jaya Bachchan as “someone who dance in films”.

“Shri Naresh Agarwal has joined Bhartiya Janata Party. He is welcome. However, his comments about Jaya Bachhan ji are improper and unacceptable”, Swaraj tweeted soon after Agarwal’s insulting remark.

Naresh Agarwal, currently a member of Rajya Sabha, was denied a ticket for the forthcoming elections to the Upper House of Parliament. Instead, Jaya Bachchan was given the party ticket by Samajwadi Party (SP). Agarwal made the controversial remark in that context.

Roopa Ganguly, another BJP leader and an actress, also disapproved Agarwal’s remarks while praising Jaya Bachchan’s contribution to the film industry.

“(this is) a very sad comment of Mr Naresh Agarwal. I Do not accept this.. This is not BJP leadership. I am proud of Jaya di's contribution to the film industry and also as a parliamentarian”, she wrote on Twitter.

BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra, too, immediately clarified that the BJP "has no prejudice against anyone from any profession."

Rajya Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh and other states is slated to be held on March 23. The election will be held for 58 seats. The vacancies to be filled are 10 seats from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Bihar and Maharashtra; five each from West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh; four each from Gujarat and Karnataka; three each from Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha and Rajasthan; two from Jharkhand; and one seat each from Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of