Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Karnataka Elections 2018: May 12 poll in Rajarajeswari Nagar seat deferred

Friday May 11, 2018 11:34 PM, News Network

Karnataka Polls

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday postponed the assembly elections scheduled for Saturday May 12 in Rajarajeswari Nagar seat. The election in Rajarajeswari Nagar will now held on May 28 instead of May 12, the Election Commission of India said.

"The Election Commission of India exercising powers under Article 324 of the Constitution and sections 30 and 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 read with section 21 of the General Clauses Act, 1897 and all other powers enabling it in its behalf, has directed that the poll scheduled to be taken on 12th May, 2018 in 154-Rajarajeswari Nagar Assembly Constituency in Karnataka shall be deferred, for the time being", the Election Commission of India said in a statement.

"In this light, the Commission further directed that the poll in the constituency shall now be taken on 28th May, 2018 (Monday) and counting of the votes of this Constituency will take place on 31st May, 2018 (Thursday)", the commission added.

Rajarajeswari Nagar Assembly is the Karnataka constituency where a huge cache of voter ID card was seized in an apartment. BJP and Congress were accusing each other for the large number of ID cards being seized just days before the polling. The Congress had even claimed that the apartment where ID cards were found belonged to a former BJP corporator.

Karnataka has a total of 224 assembly seats. Elections for 223 seats were scheduled for May 12 following the death of BJP nominee. After Election Commission of India's latest order Karnataka Assembly Elections will be held only on 222 seats.

Counting of votes will be done on May 15 and the results will also be declared on the same day.

Meanwhile, Congress and BJP - the top contestants in the polls, are exuding confidence and claimed their victory in the polls. While BJP President Amit Shah said the BJP will win 130 seats, the ruling Congress said it will comfortably retain power in the state.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of