Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Only 16 Muslims in newly elected 198-member Bengaluru civic body
Tuesday August 25, 2015 4:51 PM, Faizee Zohair Mohammad Safwan,


The newly elected 198- member Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) will have a total of 16 Muslims belonging to the Congress, Janata Dal (Secular) and the Socialist Democratic Party of India (SDPI), the poll data showed after completion of counting of votes on Tuesday.

While the Congress, with a total of 75 members, has sent 12 Muslim councilors, the Janata Dal (Secular) with a tally of 14 members, has sent 03 Muslims to the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) majority Bengaluru civic body.

The ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), which has emerged frontrunner to rule the BBMP for another term, registering wins in as many as 100 wards, does not have a single Muslim councilor.

Mujahid Pasha is the only Muslim candidate who has won the BBMP 2015 elections on the Socialist Democratic Party of India (SDPI) ticket.

As per the Muslim population of Bengauru city, the civic body should have at least 25 Muslim members. Most of the Muslim majority wards saw multi cornered contests, and hence many Muslim candidates lost the seat to other parties.

The 12 Muslim councilors of the Congress party are: Irshad Begum (Nagavara), Noushir Ahmad (Kadugondanahalli), Abdul Wajid (Manorayanapalya), Syed Sajeda (Muneshwara Nagar), Mohammad Zameer Shah (SK Garden), AR Zakir (Pulikeshi Nagar), Shakeel Ahmed (Bharathi Nagar), Fareeda ( Shivaji Nagar), Ajmal Beig (Bapuji Nagar), Seema Altaf Khan (Jagareevanram Nagar), Mohammad Rizwan Nawab (Gurappanapalya), S Ansar Pasha (Banashankari Temple Ward).

Umme Salma (Kushal Nagar), Imran Pasha (Padarayanapura) and Nazima Khanum (KR Market) are the Janata Dal (Secular) Muslim candidates who have won the 2015 BBMP civic polls.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), which entered the Karnataka politics by fielding candidates in the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), could not win in a single ward.

The disappointed MIM Bengaluru chief M Ibrahim however said the defeat has not discouraged the party and it would contest the assembly elections with renewed vigour.

The Hyderabad based AIMIM, which had stunned its political rivals by impressive wins -first in the Maharashtra state elections and later in the Aurangabad municipal polls, contested the Bengaluru civic elections for the first time.

In the run-up to the polls, the Congress led state government did everything to allow MIM a smooth run. It barred party chief Asaduddin Owaisi and MIM star cmapaigner Akbaruddin Owaisi from holding rallies in Bengaluru.

The state government did not grant auto-rickshaw permissions for campaigns, and also denied the MIM candidates the party symbol, according to M Ibrahim.

Around 46 percent of the 74 lakh electorate voted on Saturday in 197 wards of the Bengaluru civic corporation across the city amid tight security, a poll official said.

Barring stray incidents and heated arguments by cadres and supporters of rival political parties, polling in 197 of the 198 civic wards was by and large peaceful.

The century-old Bruhat Bengaluru Mahangara Palike (BBMP) was expanded in 2007 by including seven city municipal councils and one town municipal council and 111 surrounding villages to increase civic wards to 198 from 100.

The day-long election was held in 197 wards, as the BJP's Bharati Ramachandra, 45, was declared elected from the Hongasandra ward (number 189) after the nomination papers of Congress candidate K. Maheshwari were rejected on August 13 for submitting a false caste certificate.

Delimitation of the wards on the basis of the 2011 population census, with 50 percent of them reserved for women, has forced political parties to field wives or relatives of former corporators as contestants in many wards.

In all, 1,120 candidates, including 197, 198 and 187 from the BJP, the ruling Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) respectively, a dozen from regional outfits like Vatala Chaluvali Paksha, AIADMK and Socialist Democratic Party of India (SDPI), All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and 399 Independents, including many as rebels are in the fray.

In the previous five-year term (2010-2015), the BJP ruled the BBMP for the first time by winning 116 wards, as against 62 wards by the Congress, 14 by JD-S and eight by Independents.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of