Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Finally, Asaduddin Owaisi decides to contest Bihar assembly elections
Saturday September 12, 2015 5:46 PM, News Network

Asaduddin Owaisi

Its officially announced. Party president Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday said that the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) will contest Bihar assembly elections and field candidates mainly in the state's Seemanchal region.

Owaisi told reporters that All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) will soon announce the number of seats it will be contesting.

Seemanchal region in Bihar comprising four districts has 24 assembly constituencies, and has a substantial number of Muslims.

The Hyderabad MP said the backwardness of Seemanchal would be the main poll issue for his party.

He also announced that Akhtarul Iman will be the president of Bihar unit of AIMIM.

Bihar will go for a five-phased election for its 243-member assembly between October 12 and November 5, with 6.68 crore people eligible to exercise their franchise.

The first phase of polling for 49 seats will be held on October 12, the second phase for 32 seats on October 16, the third phase for 50 seats on October 28, the fourth phase for 55 seats on November 1 and the final phase for 57 seats on November 5.

The counting of votes will take place on November 8.

Owaisi's decision to field AIMIM candidates in Seemanchal region is followed by the announcement made by the six Left parties to contest the Bihar election together.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar of JD (U), RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and the Congress had earlier formed an alliance of the three parties to contest the crucial state elections.

The BJP has formed alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan, former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi and others in a bid to grab power in Bihar.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of