Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Yusuf Khan among 12 candidates in Paswan's first Bihar poll list
Friday September 18, 2015 2:38 PM, Agencies

New Delhi: The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) of union minister Ram Vilas Paswan on Friday released its first list with 12 candidates for the Bihar assembly polls. The list include the name of Md. Yusuf Khan who will contest from Simri Bakhtiyarpur.

"The LJP parliamentary board has finalised candidates for 29 seats but we are releasing the first list of 12 candidates on which we got clearance from all the allies in the National Democratic Alliance," LJP MP Chirag Paswan said at a press conference here.

LJP's Bihar unit chief and union minister Paswan's brother Pashupati Kumar Paras will fight from Alauli whereas Amar Singh Kushwaha will be the party's candidate from Nathnagar.

Another Paswan family member Prince Raj has been given the ticket from Kalyanpur assembly constituency. Raj is the son of LJP MP Ram Chander Paswan, a brother of the union minister.

Other names included in the list are of leaders like Ramesh Singh from Vibhutipur assembly segment, Anil Choudhary from Cheriya Bariarpur, Subhash Chandra Bose from Sikandara (SC), Engineer Himanshu Raj from Jamalpur, Satendra Singh from Fatuha, Raju Tiwari from Govindganj, Vijay Paswan from Triveniganj (SC) and Sarita Paswan from Sonbarsha (SC).

The BJP will contest 160 seats in the 243-member Bihar assembly, the Lok Janshakti Party 40 seats, Hindustani Awam Morcha 20 seats and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party 23 seats.

Bihar will witness five-phased elections between October 12 to November 5. Counting of votes will take place on November 8.

The notification for the first phase of polls was issued on Wednesday.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of