Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Congress surges ahead in Goa; Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar loses election

Saturday March 11, 2017 2:20 PM, & Agencies

Goa Election 2017 Result

Even as the Congress party continues its lead Goa assembly where counting of votes is still underway, in a setback for the ruling BJP Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar lost the election to the Congress candidate.

Parsekar lost the election to Dayanand Sopte of Congress in Mandrem assembly constituency.

Meanwhile, the trends at 02:15 pm showed the Congress is leading on 15 seats, while the ruling BJP a close second with a lead on 11 seats. Others are ahead on 06 seats.

Of the 15 results declared so far, BJP bagged 06 seats, Congress won 04, Goa Forward Block 02, MGP, NCP and Independent 01 seat each.

Latest trends also showed that AAP, contesting the Goa election for the first time, is not in a position to win a single seat.

Earlier, counting of votes began at the 02 centres in Goa amid tight security on Saturday March 11 at 08:00 am. Votes for 19 constituencies are being counted at Panaji in North Goa, while the counting for the remaining 21 is underway in Margao in South Goa.

Live Updates:
01:45 PM
The Congress party continues its lead Goa assembly where the ruling BJP is not far away behind, the trends available at 01:45 pm showed.

The trends at 01:45 pm showed the Congress is leading on 14 seats, while the ruling BJP a close second with a lead on 12 seats. Others are ahead on 06 seats.

Latest trends also showed that AAP, contesting the Goa election for the first time, is not in a position to win a single seat.

12:00 PM
The Congress party is ahead in 12 of the total 40 seats in Goa assembly while the ruling BJP is leading in 09 seats, trends available at 12:00 pm showed.

The terends at 12:00 pm also showed that AAP, contesting the Goa election for the first time, is not in a position to win a single seat.

10:30 AM
Trends available at 10:30 am showed the Congress is ahead in 11 of the total 40 seats in Goa assembly. The ruling BJP is leading in 08 seats whereas others are ahead in 04 seats.

In Goa, election officials say counting will be completed by 2:30 pm.

08:00 AM
Counting of votes in Goa, where the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in power since last five years, started today at 08:00 am.

As per the Election Commission guidelines, the process began with counting of postal votes.

The trends and results will soon start coming as the first round of voting is expected to be completed by about 08:30 am.

07: 00 AM Counting of votes for the assembly elections in the tiney tourist state of Goa and four other Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab and Manipur states will start today i.e. Saturday March 11, 2017 exactly at 08:00 am.

According to the election commission, the process in Goa will begin with counting of postal votes and trends are expected to be available by 09:00 am. By 12 noon, a final picture could emerge on who would be the major players in the state.

The counting of vote will take place at 02 centres in Goa. The entire process will be completed by afternoon, the state election commission said.

According to Election Commission guidelines, half-an-hour after the postal ballots are counted, the process of counting of EVM votes begins.

The 'ballot unit' is switched on in the presence of senior poll officials and counting agents of candidates and the result command keyed in to get the results per machine.

Where a paper trail audit or 'voter-verified paper audit trail' (VVPAT) has been used, the counting agent can call for a count of the paper slips in the drop box attached to the voting machine, but a final count is taken by the returning officer.

Once the results are declared, the names of the winning candidates will find mention in the gazette. The gazette notification will initiate the process to form the next legislative assemblies in the states.

Exit polls by various news channel released on Thursday had predicted that the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) will retain power in Goa for the next five years.

The Exit Poll results are a setback for the Congress as the party had a good chance winning in Goa. For, the BJP was a scattered lot ever since Manohar Parrikar, the former chief minister was shifted to Delhi and resumed charge as Defence Minister.

To make matters worse for the ruling BJP, the RSS raised voice of dissent against its political wing, and in many assembly areas its cadres were seen openly opposing the BJP candidates.

The Aam Aadmi Party of Arvind Kejriwal is contesting the Goa Assembly elections for the first time, and it hopes to win despite the Exit Polls predicting the opposite.

In 2012 elections, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 21 of the total 40 seats and formed the government. The Congress was a distant second with 09 whereas independents and others had 05 and 02 seats.



Share this page
More Headlines
Maharashtra HSC 2017: Now Commerce exam paper leaked; five students booked
Haj Committee releases state-wise quota for Haj 2017; J&K, Lakshadeep get additional seats
LeEco's Le2 Superphone comes with heavy discount during Snapdeal's Holi Sale
NEET 2017 in Urdu not possible this year: Modi govt to Supreme Court
Thousands protest against Manuvad and Hindutva in RSS bastion Nagpur
Study links blood pressure to early life changes in brain activity, blood flow
Six mandatory subjects instead of five for Class X board exams next year onwards
Supreme Court issues arrest warrant against serving Calcutta High Court Judge
Syed Shahabuddin - A Leader, An Icon and A Role Model
Coloring hair can up chances of breast cancer, says research
Another ATM in Delhi dispenses fake "Children Bank of India" Rs 2,000 note
Salaat - The Islamic Prayer reduces back pain, increases joint elasticity: Study
Neck-and-neck battle in Uttarakhand, Goa; Hung house in Manipur: Exit Polls
BJP wave in Uttar Pradesh, but short of the magic number, says Exit Polls
Congress leads, AAP second and Akalis routed in Punjab, says Exit Polls
Congress-SP alliance, BJP both are confidence of forming next government in Uttar Pradesh
Treatment with vaginal progesterone lowers serious newborn complications
Hindu voters have deserted Congress, AIMIM can't be blamed for its defeat: Asaduddin Owaisi
Tolerable and more effective medications now ensure cure for Hepatitis C virus
This drug may stimulate immune system in patients affected by blood cancer
In red since last two years, Indian textile sector is shaken by demonetization
At 11% of global total in 2015, Muslim apparel spending keeps fashion market in black
About 11 and 9 lakh students to appear for CBSE Class XII, Class X exams beginning Thursday
Minimum Balance Charges levied to bear Jan Dhan, ATM operating costs, says SBI
Swami, who exposed Malegaon and Samjhauta Express blasts conspiracies, acquitted in Ajmer case
Caffeine can protect against dementia: Study

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of