Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs

Sunday March 12, 2017 5:37 PM, & Agencies

Muslim MLAs in Manipur
[Irom Sharmila, PRAJA founder, fielded Najima Bibi - the First Muslim Women to contest Manipur elections. Both lost the election. Irom herself got just 90 votes and decided to quit politics.]

The newly elected Manipur Assembly, which has a total of 30 members, will have just 03 Muslims. The number is one more if compared to the Muslim tally i 2012.

According to the results declared by the State Election Commission, sitting MLA Muhammad Abdul Nasir from Congress has won the Lilong Assembly constituency.

Muhammad Abdul Nasir polled a total of 10,764 votes and won the Lilong seat, defeating Independent candidate Y Antas Khan who bagged 9,497 votes.

Mohmmad Anwar Hussain was the only Muslim candidate fielded by the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in Manipur. He contested the elections from the Lilong Assembly constituency and polled 8,456 votes but lost to Muhammad Abdul Nasir of Congress.

Mohammad Fajur Rahim of the Congress is the another Muslim candidate in the newly elected Manipur assembly. Rahim contested the elections from Wabgai, the constituency he also won in the 2012 elections. He polled 12,474 votes and defeated Dr Usham Deben Singh of BJP who bagged 7,713 votes.

The third candidate who will be in the newly formed Manipur Assembly is Ashab Uddin, an Independent. He polled 8,189 votes and defeated in Jiribam constituency. Thoudam Debendra Singh of Congress. Singh got 6,539 votes.

While the ruling Congress had fielded three Muslim candidates. Two of them won the elections whereas the third, Khetrigao sitting MLA Muhmmad Amin Shah, lost the election to N Indrajit of BJP by just 382 votes. Muhammad Amin Shah polled a total of 10,031 votes whereas Indrajit of BJP bagged 10,413 votes.

In Keirao Assembly constituency, Md Nasiruddin Khan, an Indepedndent candidate, and Md Islamuddin Khan of NCP fought with each other and gave away the seat to Lourembam Rameshwor Meetei of BJP. Mohmmad Nasiruddin Khan polled 5,421 whereas Mohammad Islamuddin Khan got 3,241 votes - together securing 8,662 votes. As against this Lourembam Rameshwor Meetei polled 5,959 votes and won the elections.

Of Manipur’s 60 assembly seats, Wabgai and Lilong are Muslim-dominated. Muslims are a deciding factor in two others — Keirao and Kshetrigao.

Manipur once had a Muslim Chief Minister Mohammad Alimuddin. There are 18 constituencies with a considerable number of Muslims.

In 2012, Manipur Assembly had a total of 02 Muslim MLAs. The number of Muslim legislators in the Manipur Assembly has decreased over the years: 05 in 1972, 07 in 1974, 04 in 1980, 03 in 1985, 02 in 1990, 04 in 1995, 01 in 2000, 03 in 2002 and 02 in 2007.

According to final results declared by the State Election Commission, no party has won the enough seat to form the government in the state. But, the ruling Congress with 28 members has emerged as the single largest party.

The BJP is second with 21 members. Naga Peoples Front and National People's Party have won 04 seats each. All India Trinamool Congress, Lok Jan Shakti Party and Independen won on 01 seat each.



Share this page
More Headlines
Maharashtra HSC 2017: Now Commerce exam paper leaked; five students booked
Haj Committee releases state-wise quota for Haj 2017; J&K, Lakshadeep get additional seats
LeEco's Le2 Superphone comes with heavy discount during Snapdeal's Holi Sale
NEET 2017 in Urdu not possible this year: Modi govt to Supreme Court
Thousands protest against Manuvad and Hindutva in RSS bastion Nagpur
Study links blood pressure to early life changes in brain activity, blood flow
Six mandatory subjects instead of five for Class X board exams next year onwards
Supreme Court issues arrest warrant against serving Calcutta High Court Judge
Syed Shahabuddin - A Leader, An Icon and A Role Model
Coloring hair can up chances of breast cancer, says research
Another ATM in Delhi dispenses fake "Children Bank of India" Rs 2,000 note
Salaat - The Islamic Prayer reduces back pain, increases joint elasticity: Study
Neck-and-neck battle in Uttarakhand, Goa; Hung house in Manipur: Exit Polls
BJP wave in Uttar Pradesh, but short of the magic number, says Exit Polls
Congress leads, AAP second and Akalis routed in Punjab, says Exit Polls
Congress-SP alliance, BJP both are confidence of forming next government in Uttar Pradesh
Treatment with vaginal progesterone lowers serious newborn complications
Hindu voters have deserted Congress, AIMIM can't be blamed for its defeat: Asaduddin Owaisi
Tolerable and more effective medications now ensure cure for Hepatitis C virus
This drug may stimulate immune system in patients affected by blood cancer
In red since last two years, Indian textile sector is shaken by demonetization
At 11% of global total in 2015, Muslim apparel spending keeps fashion market in black
About 11 and 9 lakh students to appear for CBSE Class XII, Class X exams beginning Thursday
Minimum Balance Charges levied to bear Jan Dhan, ATM operating costs, says SBI
Swami, who exposed Malegaon and Samjhauta Express blasts conspiracies, acquitted in Ajmer case
Caffeine can protect against dementia: Study
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of