Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Owaisi's MIM votes for Shiv Sena candidate in MMC Malegaon Standing Committee polls

Tuesday August 14, 2018 0:00 AM, Staff Reporter

Asaduddin Owaisi MIM Malegaon

Malegaon: Proving once again that political parties in India do exactly opposite to what they preach in public while seeking votes, the lone member of Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) in Malegaon Municipal Corporation (MMC) Standing Committee on Monday voted for the Shiv Sena candidate in Chairman elections held.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) corporator Khalid Pervez not only voted for and ensured the victory of Jai Prakash Janardhan in the MMC Malegaon Standing Committee Chairman elections but also participated in the victory procession.

Interestingly, the BJP members in the MMC Malegaon Standing Committee abstained from voting instead of supporting the Shiv Sena candidate even as AIMIM member Khalid Pervez, clearly against its party's public stand against communal parties, voted for the Sena candidate.

Sena's Jai Prakash Janardhan was pitted against Shaikh Zahid Jumman of NCP-Janata Dal (Secular) combine. Shaikh Zahid Jumman would have easily defeated Jai Prakash Janardhan had the Congress and AIMIM members voted for him. But, with the two "secular" parties supporting the "communal" Shiv Sena, Jai Prakash Janardhan easily won the election with 9-5 votes.

Standing Committee is the highest and most powerful decision making body in the corporation. Never before in the past, any member of Shiv Sena or BJP has been elected as the Chairman of MMC Malegaon Standing Committee.

However, with the support of AIMIM and Congress members, a Shiv Sena member has become the Chairman of MMC Malegaon Standing Committee Chairman. The AIMIM had contested the 2017 Malegaon Corporation elections against the Congress party, and Shiv Sena-BJP.

It is not clear if the AIMIM Malegaon local unit had taken prior permission from party chief Asaduddin Owaisi before supporting the Shiv Sena candidate.

More embarassing for the AIMIM, the Shiv Sena chose to abstain from voting and did not support the AIMIM candidate Sadiya Laeeque Ahmed for the post of Chairperson in the Women and Children Development Committee election. Though, Sadiya won the election with 4-3 margin defeating Saira Bano of NCP-Janata Dal (Secular) combine.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of