Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Shakil Ahmed, Inayath Ali Baqri among 105 finalised by TRS for 2018 Telangana polls

Thursday September 6, 2018 11:13 PM, News Network

Telnagana MLA Shakeel Ahmed

Hyderabad: Sitting MLA Shakeel Ahmed and Inayat Ali Baqri are two Muslims who figured in the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) first list of candidates released today for December 2018 Telangana State Elections.

While TRS MLA Shakeel Ahmed has been fielded from Bodhan, Nizamabad assembly seat, Inayat Ali Baqri will contest the 2018 Telangana state elections from Bahadurpura, Hyderabad. Bahadurpura assembly seat is currently held by Mohd. Moazam Khan of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

Telangana assembly, now dissolved, has a total of 119 MLAs, of them 08 are Muslims. Among the 08 Muslim MLAs who won the 2014 Telangana assembly elections, 07 are from the AIMIM. Shakeel Ahmed is the lone TRS MLA who is a Muslim.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had sweeped the 2014 state elections, winning a total of 90 seats. Congress won 13 seats, BJP 05, TDP 03 and CPI(M) just 01 seat.

Telangana assembly was on Thursday dissoloved by Governor E. S. L. Narasimhan. Earlier, the cabinet led by Chief Minister and TRS Chief K. Chandrashekar Rao had passed a resolution recommending the dissolution of the house and seeking fresh elections in the state along with Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram expected in December this year.

The Telangana Assembly term is till May 2019 and elections in normal course would be conducted along with the Lok Sabha polls in 2019.

However, with the state assembly now dissolved, the Telangana elections will be held about six months earlier than its actual schedule.

The Governor after approving the cabinet decision to dissolve the assembly asked K. Chandrasekhar Rao to continue as caretaker chief minister till a new govt is formed.

Soon later, KCR called a press conference at Telangana Bhavan, TRS headquarters and released the TRS first list of candidates for the 2018 elections. He said only two sitting candidates were denied tickets. He said candidates for the remaining 14 constituencies will be announced soon.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of