Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Over 80% Muslims in Bihar voted for Nitish Kumar-led Grand Alliance : Exit poll
Thursday November 5, 2015 10:19 PM, Agencies

Unlike apprehensions of division of votes, Muslims in Bihar strongly rallied behind Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav, and voted in an overwhelmingly large number, more than 80 per cent, for the Grand Alliance candidates, according to an exit poll released after the polling in the fifth and final round of the bitterly fought election ended Thursday.
Political analysts, and also the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) led NDA alliance, were expecting that the emergence of Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) in the Bihar electoral politics, and factors like Pappu Yadav will divide the Muslim votes.
However, according to the TimesNow-Cvoter exit poll shows 84% Muslims supported JDU-RJD-Cong alliance, 08% voted for the BJP-led NDA and the remaining 08% of Muslims opted for other parties including the AIMIM.
The BJP activists raked beef controversy just in the midst of Bihar election to gain, according to its political rivals, political mileage.
The controversies and the killing and provocation in the name of cow and beef, however, backfired, according to the exit polls released after the polling.

A total of nine different agencies release exit polls after the polling ended Thursday. Out of them six exit polls are predicting victory of the Grand Alliance, the remaining three are giving the BJP-led alliance an edge.

Despite the exit poll suspense, leaders of both the BJP and the Grand Alliance -- the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) of Nitish Kumar and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) of Lalu Prasad -- claimed they were sure of victory.

"We are hopeful of getting a clear majority," said BJP spokesman Nalin Kohli. "Although the (exit polls) ranges are close, I won't arrive at any hasty assessment," he said, indicating cautious optimism in the BJP.

Former chief minister Lalu Prasad, however, insisted that the Grand Alliance, which also includes the Congress, was poised to win 190 seats.

"The entire backward community of Bihar has voted for us," he told the media in Patna. "We salute them for this."

None of the exit polls, however, gave either alliance such a huge victory as claimed by Lalu Prasad.

While Today's Chanakya gave 155 of the 243 seats to the BJP and its three allies, NewsX-CNX said the JD-U and its allies would get 135 seats. It forecast a mere 83 seats to the JD-U, the RJD and the Congress.

In contrast, NewsX said the BJP and its allies -- the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) -- would win only 95 seats.

Other exit polls predicted a close outcome.

Any party or combine would need 122 seats to secure a wafer thin majority in the 243-member assembly. The millions of votes polled in the five rounds of polling from October 12 -- about 60 percent of the 66.8 million electorate voted -- will be counted on Sunday.

An India Today-Cicero exit poll predicted a hung assembly, with the BJP-led alliance winning 120 seats to 117 by the Grand Alliance. It gave the BJP alliance 113-127 seats and the Grand Alliance 111-123 seats. Four to eight seats could go to other parties.

A Dainik Jagran exit poll said the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) would get a majority with 130 seats as compared to 97 for the Grand Alliance.

The Times Now-CVoter survey gave 122 seats to the Grand Alliance and 111 to the NDA.

The ABP News gave the BJP and its allies 130 seats compared to 108 to the JD-U-RJD-Congress alliance.

News Nation also gave the JD-U and its allies an edge, with 120-124 seats, while the BJP and its allies could get 115-119 seats.

India TV-C Voter also predicted 111 seats to the BJP combine and 122 to the Grand Alliance.

Even before the exit polls were telecast, JD-U spokesman K.C. Tyagi told IANS in Patna that the Grand Alliance was confident of winning a "stupendous mandate".

Neither Modi or BJP president Amit Shah -- who micro-managed the Bihar election -- nor Nitish Kumar spoke to the media.

Earlier on Thursday, nearly 60 percent of the 1.55 crore electorate turned out to vote in the last of the 57 constituencies spread across seven districts: Kishangaj, Purnea, Araria, Katihar, Saharasa, Madhepura and Supaul.

Despite widespread apprehensions, the staggered election passed off peacefully, even in areas considered to be strongholds of Maoists who had called for an election boycott.

The voter enthusiasm was evident on Thursday too, with tens of thousands queuing up at polling booths even before they opened at 7 a.m. A total of 827 candidates were in the fray.

Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi's Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) contested from six constituencies, making its foray into Bihar.

Earlier on Thursday, the stock market dipped over a possible lack of clear mandate in Bihar.

The Bihar election is a big test for the BJP, whose winning streak since the 2014 Lok Sabha polls was halted by the Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi in February this year.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com