Follow us on Facebook | Share on Twitter | Subscribe to RSS Feed
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
SDPI, AIMIM fail to garner support from majority in Bihar's Muslim strongholds
Sunday November 8, 2015 7:26 PM, News Network

Patna: Though the Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) registered significant wins in as many as 53 wards of 13 districts in the recently concluded Kerala civic elections, and the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) tasted yet another victory in Maharashtra, both the parties could not win a single seat in Bihar.

SDPI and AIMIM both claim that they are not 'Muslim base' partt, but the fact remains that they heavily depend on Muslim voters to win elections. It is hence that they fielded candidates only in the Muslim majority Seemanchal area of Bihar.

While the SDPI contested the election on 04 seats, the AIMIM, which is led by its firebrand and hugely controversial president Asaduddin owaisi, tried luck on six seats.

While the SDPI kept low profile during campaigning and largely remained away from the media glare, Asaduddin Owaisi with his younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi in toe led a charged campaign of the party.

Though both the brothers claim themselves to be 'bitterly' anti-BJP and anti-RSS, and strong opponent of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, they trained their guns during the entire campaigning only against the secular alliance led by Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav.

The Bihar election results showed Asaduddin Owaisi and his party, accused of contesting election at the bhest of the BJP, miserably failed in impressing voters.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), contested on six seats mainly in the Muslim dominated Seemanchal region, and lost the election everywhere including the Kishanganj and Kochadhman assembly seats.

Here, AIMIM candidate Taseerudin is defeated by Dr. Muhammad Jawaid of the Congress party. Dr Mohammad Jawaid defeated his nearest rival Sweety Singh of BJP.

Dr Mohammad Jawai bagged 66,522 votes as against to his rival's 57,913 votes. Taseeruddin could get a little more than 16,000 votes.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and Asaduddin Owaisi's henchman in Bihar Akhtarul Imaan is defeated by Mujahid Alam of the Congress in the Kochadhaman assembly seat.

Mujahid Alam of Congress defeated AIMIM Bihar President Akhtarul Imaan by about 18,000 votes.

According to the poll results, Mujahid Alam bagged 55,929 votes, whereas Akhatarul Imaan could get just 37,086 votes.

MIM candidate Ghulam Sarvar got defeated by RJD's Abdus Subhan. As against Abdus Subhan's huge 67,022 votes, Nawazish Alam could get just 16,723 votes in Baisi assembly constituency..

MIM candidate Nawazish Alam is defeated by Abdul Jaleel Mastan of the Congress. Nazawish could poll a meagre 1,402 votes against Jaleel Mastan's 46,057 votes in Amour assembly seat.

The above result showed that though the party has been able to garner support from some voters, thanks to the 'emotional' and heavily charged speeches by the Owaisi brothers, it has been rejected by huge number of Muslims.

Interestingly, SDPI and AIMIM both contested the Bihar election without any cadre and grassroots base, merely believing that the Muslim voters would be carried away merely by emotional speeches sand addressing real issues.

The Muslim voters, realising fully that any 'political experiment' at this stage would be disasterous, analaysed carefully which candidate is in a position to win the election. Once taken this decision, they backed the respective candidate with en-mass support.

Certainly, the SDPI and AIMIM candidates were not in the Muslim community's wisely chalked out list.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of