Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Akbaruddin Owaisi to address his maiden rally in Bihar today morning
Sunday October 4, 2015 10:42 AM, News Network

Akbaruddin Owaisi

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) floor leader in Telangana assembly Akbaruddin Owaisi will be addressing his maiden election rally in Bihar Sunday morning in Kishanganj.

The AIMIM Bihar unit is preparing on a large scale for Junior Owaisi's election rally to be held at Sunita High School Ground, Kochadhaman in Kishanganj district at 11:00 am.

The senior AIMIM leader and younger brother of party chief and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi arrived at Bagdogra Airport in West Bengal last night. From there, he reached Kishanganj by car.

A massive crowd gathered both at the Bagdogra Airport and in Kishanganj to greet the young AIMIM leader known for fiery speeches. His rallies are attended by huge crowds and speeches widely shared on the internet and social media.

Party president Asaduddin Owaisi had on September 12 announced that the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) will contest Bihar assembly elections and field candidates mainly in the state's Seemanchal region.

Seemanchal region in Bihar comprising four districts has 24 assembly constituencies, and has a substantial number of Muslims.

The Hyderabad MP said the backwardness of Seemanchal would be the main poll issue for his party. He also announced that Akhtarul Iman will be the president of Bihar unit of AIMIM.

Bihar will go for a five-phased election for its 243-member assembly between October 12 and November 5, with 6.68 crore people eligible to exercise their franchise.

The first phase of polling for 49 seats will be held on October 12, the second phase for 32 seats on October 16, the third phase for 50 seats on October 28, the fourth phase for 55 seats on November 1 and the final phase for 57 seats on November 5.

The counting of votes will take place on November 8.

Owaisi's decision to field AIMIM candidates in Seemanchal region is followed by the announcement made by the six Left parties to contest the Bihar election together.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar of JD (U), RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and the Congress had earlier formed an alliance of the three parties to contest the crucial state elections.

The BJP has formed alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan, former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi and others in a bid to grab power in Bihar.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of