Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Education & Career

Bohra Chief Mufaddal Saifudin re-elected Aligarh Muslim University Chancellor

Nawab Ibne Said Khan of Chhatari and Prof (Hkm) Syed Zillur Rahman were elected as Pro-Chancellor and Honorary Treasurer of the university

Sunday December 2, 2018 9:08 PM, ummid.com News Network

Mufaddal Siafuddin Re-Elected AMU Chancellor

Aligarh: Dr. Mufaddal Saifuddin, Nawab Ibne Said Khan of Chhatari and Prof (Hkm) Syed Zillur Rahman (Padma Shri) President, Ibne Sina Academy were unanimously elected as the Chancellor, Pro-Chancellor and Honorary Treasurer of the Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) respectively.

The elections were held in a special meeting of the University Court held at the NRSC Club.

Dr. Mufaddal Saifudin, the spiritual head of the Bohra Community and Nawab Ibne Saeed Khan of Chhatari were declared elected unopposed as the Aligarh Muslim University's Chancellor and Pro-Chancellor, respectively, for the second consecutive term, while Prof (Hkm) Syed Zillur Rahman was declared unopposed elected as the Honorary Treasurer of the University.

The results were declared by Chief Election Officer, Prof Zaheeruddin.

According to the notification issued by the Registrar Abdul Hamid (IPS) the tenure of the elected chairs will be for a period of three years.

Vice-Chancellor Prof Tariq Mansoor expressed happiness on their election and hoped the University will benefit from their cooperation in the development and progress of the institution.

The court meeting was attended by more than 100 members including Members of Parliament, eminent academics, heads of institutions and other prominent personalities from industry, art, literature, sports, governance etc.

AMU Registrar, Abdul Hamid (IPS) conducted the proceedings of the meeting. The annual meeting of the University Court was also held in which 16 different items on the agenda were discussed.

The AMU Court is the supreme governing body of the University. It had elected Mufaddal Saifuddin, the head of the Bohra Community, as AMU Chancellor on April 11, 2015. Mufaddal Saifuddin's grandfather Tahir Saifuddin was AMU Chancellor from April 12, 1953 to April 28, 1965 while his father Burhanuddin served the university during 1999-2002.

In the 2015 elections, the Bohra leader secured 97 votes against 33 votes secured by Mahmoordur Rahman, a retired IAS officer and former Vice Chancellor of the AMU.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com