Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Lok Sabha to debate and vote no confidence motion against Modi govt on Friday

Wednesday July 18, 2018 6:55 PM, Agencies

Parliament Monsoon Session

[Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing the media ahead of the Monsoon Session of Parliament, in New Delhi on July 18, 2018.]

New Delhi: Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday admitted a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government brought in the Lok Sabha by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and announced to take it up on Friday for debate followed by voting.

"The House will take up the debate (on the motion) on Friday, July 20th. The discussion will be held for the full day, followed by voting on it," Mahajan announced in the House when it reassembled after the lunch break on the first day of the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The member of the TDP, which had quit the ruling NDA coalition in March protesting against the government not giving a special package to Andhra Pradesh, had moved the motion during Zero Hour which was admitted by the Speaker.

"More than 50 members are supporting the motion, so the leave is granted (to bring in no-confidence motion)," Mahajan said earlier in the day, accepting the notice.

Mahajan also said that there will be no Question Hour on that day and the House would have no other business, barring the discussion on the no-confidence motion.

During the Zero Hour, she had named all members from TDP, Congress and NCP, among others, who had moved similar no- confidence motion notices and said TDP's Kesineni Srinivas would move his motion as his party was the first to raise it.

Mahajan said TDP MP Kesineni Srinivas would move the motion as his party was the first to raise the notice. However, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge objected to it, demanding that the largest party be allowed to move the motion. The Speaker retorted by saying that she was abiding by the rules, which say that the party which raises the motion first, gets to move it.

“It’s not a question of big party, small party. The person who first brought the motion has to be called first,” Mahajan said.

The Speaker had not accepted notices for a similar no-confidence motion during the Budget Session, which was washed out due to continuous protests by the TDP, TRS and AIDMK over issues like the special category status for Andhra Pradesh and Cauvery management board respectively.

Mahajan had not accepted notices for a similar motion during the Budget Session, which was washed out due to continued uproar by TDP, TRS and some Opposition parties demanding that government agree to the motion. The Speaker rejected the motion on the ground that the House was not in order as there were continuous protests in the Well by opposition members on various issues.

The Opposition parties brought in no-confidence motion against the government on issues like Grant of special status to Andhra Pradesh, lynchings, atrocities against women and dalits and dilution of a law meant for Scheduled Caste.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
More Headlines
Reliance Foundation's Jio Institute among 06 shortlised as Institutions of Eminence
Modi, Moon inaugurate Samsung mobile manufacturing facility in Noida
'Dr. Hansraj Hathi' of Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashma dies of massive heart attack
Nirbhaya Case Verdict: Supreme Court upholds death sentence of the rapists
Columbia Asia doctors save boy who swallowed live fish
Was Emergency in India akin to Hitler’s Regime?
Dr. Zakir Naik calls on Malaysian PM Mahathir Mohamad, Legal team releases photo
Worries accelerate as 2019 nears and number of deaths piles up in India
Tamil Nadu opposes holding of NEET, JEE twice a year and in online mode
Muslim Personal Law Board plans Sharia Courts in all Indian districts
Indian Civil Services: A bureaucracy must be an enabler and not a hinderer
15-yr-old girl student among 03 civilians killed in fresh wave of Kashmir violence
Minister confirms NEET, JEE will be held twice a year, announces major changes
Online petition demands Modi government to sack Jayant Sinha from cabinet
Airports Authority of India invites application for over 900 posts, Apply before August 16, 2018
Dr Zakir Naik will not be deported to India: Malaysian Prime Minister
First Haj Flight carrying 421 pilgrims to depart from Kolkata Airport on July 17, 2018
Kumbh Mela 2019: Muslims voluntarily demolish parts of two mosques for road widening
Will Aligarh Muslim University be a flashpoint in BJP's strategy for 2019 polls?
Apps record your on-screen activities and send them to third-parties: Experts
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of