Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » 2018 General Election Pakistan
Imran Khan's PTI leads in 2018 Pakistan General Elections, Counting still underway

Thursday July 26, 2018 12:30 PM, News Network

Imran Khan PTI

Islamabad: Former Cricketer Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in as many as 115 seats whereas the ruling Pakistan Muslim League of Nawaz Sharif (PML-N) is struggling at 64 seats, according to the trends available at 12:30 pm Thursday.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) of Bhuttus is leading in 38 seats and independents and others are ahead in 39 seats of the total 256 seats inputs of which have received so far. Counting of votes is still underway. These are just trends and final results are expected by Thursday afternoon.

According to ARY News, PTI Chairman Imran Khan is leading in Mianwali seat. ARY News said, Dr Yasmeen of PTI is also leading in Lahore III. PTI candidates are also ahead of their rivals in Multan II and Layyah I seats. These are the unofficial trends and will be changed after accurate figures trickle in from the ECP, ARY News said.

PTI candidates are also ahead in Jhelum-I, Islamabad I, Islamabad III and Gujrat III in Punjab, Multan IV, Haripur and D.I Khan II, Peshawar I, Peshawar II, Peshawar III in Khyber Pakhtun. PML-Q is ahead in Gujarat I and Gujrat II, according to the trends.

On the other hand, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidates are ahead in Thatta I and Larkana in Sindh.

Earlier, millions of Pakistanis on Wednesday July 25, 2018 flocked to polling stations to vote in the country's Parliamentary and Provincial elections that were marred by violence, including targeting of candidates.

People voted on Wednesday to send 272 representatives to the National Assembly. The Election Commission of Pakistan says counting of votes across the country began after polling and first results are expected to start coming in a short while.

Unlike India, where polling is done using Electronic Voting Machines (EVM), people in Pakistan will use ballot papers to caste their votes.

According to data released by Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), a total of 3,459 candidates — 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Balochistan — were cleared to run for the 272 general seats of the national assembly. However, elections in two constituencies — NA-60, NA-108 — were later postponed by the commission.

National Assembly Pakistan Current Party Position

The National Assembly of Pakistan is the lower house of the bicameral Majlis-e-Shura, which also comprises the President of Pakistan and Senate of Pakistan (Upper House). The National Assembly consists of a total of 342 members who are referred to as Members of the National Assembly (MNAs). Of them 272 members are directly elected members whereas 70 seats are reserved for women and religious minorities. A political party must win 172 seats to form a government.

The 14th National Assembly of Pakistan currently has a majority of Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Nawaz) Sharif and its allies. While PML-N has a total of 178 members, its allies including JUI-F (13 members) and others have 21 seats. The PML-N and allies with a total tally of 199 members are currently in power in Pakistan.

There are 14 parties which form the Opposition with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) having 46 members, Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) having 34 members and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) having 24 members.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of