Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Akbaruddin Owaisi counters KCR, says Nov me elections, Dec me mai khud Chief Minister

Sunday September 9, 2018 11:45 AM, News Netwok

AKbaruddin Owaisi

Hyderabad: Kickstarting All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) campaign in the poll bound Telangana, Akbaruddin Owaisi on Friday slammed K. Chandrashekar Rao, popularly known as KCR, for his ambitions to become chief minister again and said he himself will try to secure the top post of the state after the polls.

"If Kumaraswamy can become chief minister, why can't me", Akbaruddin Owaisi, AIMIM floor leade in now dissolved Telangana assembly, said while addressing a public meeting in Mallepally Hyderabad.


“KCR says he will become chief minister again in December after the elections which will be held in November. I say November me elections honge aur December me mai khud Chief minister hoonga (Elections will be in November and in December, I will be the next Chief Minister of Telnagana", Akbaruddin Owaisi said.

“If Kumaraswamy can become CM, why not me?” Owaisi reiterated while reminding the gathering his father Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi's words and asking the people to support AIMIM and achieve this target.

Akbaruddin Owaisi was referring to HD Kumaraswamy of Janata Dal (S) who became chief minister of Karnataka even though the Congress and BJP have more members.

AIMIM had 07 MLAs in the dissolved assembly and is expected to win as many seats in the next elections. However, Akbaruddin Owaisi did not elaborate how he plans to secure the top post in the state with the support of just 7-8 MLAs.

The Telangana assembly has a total of 119 seats. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had sweeped the 2014 state elections, winning a total of 90 seats. Congress won 13 seats, BJP 05, TDP 03 and CPI(M) just 01 seat.

Meanwhile, with the dissolution of Telangana assembly, the state has swung in poll mode and all parties are gearing up for bitter contests in the coming election. The TRS has already released its first list of 105 candidates. The list, having names of only 02 Muslims, included all sitting MLAs except two.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of