Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Education & Career
DUSU Elections 2018: ABVP wins 03 of top 04 key posts

Thursday September 13, 2018 10:07 PM, News Network

DUSU Election 2018 Result

New Delhi: RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Thursday won 03 of the top 04 key posts of Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections results of which were announced today late in the evening.

According to the DUSU Eelections 2018 final results announced by university poll officials, ABVP’s Ankiv Basoya, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary won the posts of President, Vice-President and Joint Secretary respectively. The post of Secretary went to Congress affiliated National Students’ Union Of India (NSUI) candidate Akash Choudhary.

The Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections were held peacefully recording around 44.46% voter turnout till 7.30 pm on Wednesday. Polling took place at 52 centres in the colleges, where as many as 02 lakh voters have been involved in deciding the fate of 23 candidates.

The counting was initially stopped for an hour when there were allegations of faulty EVMs, however, following objections by students the election officials decided to suspend the counting. In the initial trends, Congress-backed NSUI was leading for the president post, while BJP-affiliated ABVP was leading for the vice president's post, according to PTI.

"NSUI was winning the DUSU election after six rounds when the EVMs magically started malfunctioning. One EVM showed votes on secretary post on ballot number 10 when there are only eight candidates. EVM also showed zero votes for NSUI candidate", the NSUI said in a statement.

"It is clear that any further counting on these EVMs has no credibility and we demand that our candidates are declared winners immediately", it said.

The 2018 DUSU election was a three-way fight between National Students’ Union of India (NSUI), Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and the Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) student wing, the Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS).

In 2017 DUSU election, Congress backed National Students Union of India (NSUI) had won 03 posts, including the crucial the post of President in the election result of which was announced on September 13, 2017.

RSS affiliate Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) managed to bag the Secreatary post in the 2017 elections. In 2016 DUSU Polls, while ABVP had won the post of president, vice president and secretary, Congress’ students’ union NSUI was elected to the post of joint secretary.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of