Ummid Assistant

IDB scholarship forms available at Bhopal's Companion School

IGNOU's preparatory course for students desiring higher education

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics

UP: BJP sweeps corporation polls, Independents king in Nagar Palikas, Parishads

Sunday July 08, 2012 09:24:02 AM, Agencies

Lucknow: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) swept the municipal corporation polls in Uttar Pradesh Saturday, winning 8 major corporations of the 12 and Independents hold the key in the majority of Nagar Palikas and Nagar Parishads that went to polls after the counting of votes was completed amidst tight security on a rainy day.

The party, which had performed dismally during the recent state assembly polls, made a comeback and did well in other corporations as well, with its candidates for corporators winning in large numbers.

State Election Commission officials told IANS that a final picture of the results would only be clear late in the night or early Sunday as the rains had delayed counting at many places across the state.

The most significant win for the BJP came from Lucknow where the incumbent mayor Dinesh Sharma pulled off a massive victory, defeating his nearest Congress rival Neeraj Bora with over one lakh votes.

State Election Commissioner S.K. Agarwal said in Moradabad, the BJP's Bina Agarwal defeated her nearest Peace Party rival Humayun Kabeer with a huge margin while in Aligarh, the BJP candidate for the mayor's post Shakuntala Bharati won by defeating independent candidate Raziya Khan.

In a direct contest in Gorakhpur, BJP's Satya Pandey defeated Congress candidate Sujeet Kareem while in Jhansi BJP's Kiran Verma won the mayoral seat by defeating Nirmala Bilhariya of the Congress.

In Kanpur, a traditional Congress stronghold, the BJP's Jagat Veer Singh Drona defeated his nearest Congress rival Pawan Gupta. In Varanasi, BJP candidate for the mayor's seat Ram Gopal Modle defeated his Congress rival Ashok Singh, and in Meerut BJP's Harikant Ahluwalia defeated his Congress rival Devendra Singh with a huge margin.

In Bareilly, Independent candidate I.S. Tomar defeated his BJP rival Gulshan Anand.

In another politically significant city, Allahabad, another traditional Congress bastion, Independent Abhilasha Gupta defeated her nearest BJP rival Kamla Singh. She is the wife of former BSP minister Nand Kumar Gupta 'Nandi'.

In Agra, BJP candidate Indrajit Balmiki won the mayor's seat.

According to the State Election Commission, in the 186 Nagar Palika Parishads for which the elections were held, of the results announced, BJP has won 8, Congress 2, Independents 14.

Other than this, of the 388 Nagar Panchayat elections, so far the BJP has won 7, Congress 5, Independents 40. Of the total 980 corporator seats in the state, 97 have so far gone to the BJP, Congress 21 and 144 have been won by Independents.

In the 2006 elections, the BJP had won 8 mayoral seats, Congress had won 3 and Samajwadi Party had won one mayoral seat. This time the Congress has failed to win a single mayor's seat.

Visibly elated at the success, state BJP chief Laxmikant Bajpayi termed the victory as that of the BJP workers and the people. "These elections were fought not on individual egos but collective responsibility," Bajpayi told IANS.






Home | Top of the Page


Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS






Top Stories

Yeddyurappa gets his way, Shettar to be new Karnataka CM

Bowing to pressure from B.S. Yeddyurappa, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to replace Karnataka Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda with Rural Development  »

BJP mulls replacing Karnataka chief minister to save government

Leadership tussle in Karnataka leaves CM embarrassed


  Most Read

Swami Agnivesh mocks Modi's claim of Gujarat being a model state

Social Activist Swami Agnivesh on Friday sprang a surprise by criticizing and hitting at chief minister Narendra Modi while welcoming the idea of a party being proposed  »

Nitish-Modi Spat: Debating Secularism

Carnage and the Motives: Anti Muslim violence and Anti Sikh Massacre

Leaked video shows US pilot singing after killing Afghans

A video from an Apache helicopter's on-board camera that was leaked online shows a US pilot blowing up an Afghan man while singing "Bye, bye Miss American pie". As the pilot launches a missile at a group of people in a street, he is seen humming the famous tune from the 1971 album by  »


  News Pick

Dump plea against me, Rahul Gandhi urges SC

Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi Friday urged the Supreme Court to dismiss a plea against an Allahabad High Court order absolving him of allegations that  »

766 complaints of paid news received in Jan-March polls: Quraishi

The Election Commission received a staggering 766 complaints of paid news during the January-March assembly elections  »

Now, Parrikar accuses Chidambaram of 'dadagiri' in postings

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar Friday accused union home ministry of P. Chidambaram of 'dadagiri' over the issue of appointment of Indian Police Service (IPS)  »

Prime minister an overrated economist: BJP

At the end of eight years, Manmohan Singh cannot say this should be done and that should be done, BJP leader Sinha said. Sinha also said that the prime minister should not blame his government's failures on the  »


Picture of the Day

The Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) students with the world's largest envelope they put on display on May 02, 2012. The envelope earned the premium Institution a place in the Guinness Book of World Records. AMU received a certificate in this regard on June 28, 2012.



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant



Science & Technology



About us




Government Schemes










Contact us




    Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.