Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Asaduddin Owaisi among top three best performers in 15th Lok Sabha
Saturday May 9, 2015 8:27 AM, News Network

Asaduddin Owaisi

New Delhi:
Asaduddin Owaisi, the Hyderabad MP and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) chief, who has been often accused of playing communal card for political mileage, has been rated among top three best performers in the last Lok Sabha.

According to the book released by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday Shiv Sena's Anandrao Adsul tops the list of MPs who asked maximum questions between 2009 and 2014 (period of 15th Lok Sabha).

Adsul asked 1,280 questions, followed by his party colleague Gajanan Babar with 1,185 questions. Asaduddin Owaisi stands at third place with 1,141 questions, followed by Pradeep Manjhi of Congress with 1,112 questions.

Interestingly, Asauddin Owaisi, known for fiery speeches, was among top performers in the monsoon session of the parliament in 2013 with 1042 questions. He also participated in 38 debates.

Asaduddin Owaisi was also selected for the 'Sansad Ratna award 2014' for his impressive performances in the Lok Sabha.

Titled 'Representatives at Work', the book brought out by research organisation, Centre for Democracy and Peace, examines the role of MPs from different angles.

As per the book, the 15th Lok Sabha also set a new record of the proceedings disrupted 51,593 times in five years due to ruckus, with as many as 570 adjournments and as many as 829 times.

The book says that the last Lok Sabha wasted 40% of time while pandemonium and other disruptions wasted as many as 888 hours and 47 minutes.

The book notes that top leaders such as Congress president Sonia Gandhi, her son and party vice-president Rahul Gandhi and Samjawadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav and 52 others are the worst performers, who didn't ask a single question in the last 15th Lok Sabha.

Sonia and Rahul also appear poorly in terms of spending less than 50% time in the House, while Congress member K P Thanapalan registered 100% attendance. Mulayam topped the seniors with maximum 85% presence in the House.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of