Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
LDF set to win in Kerala; Keralites prove Chandy wrong
Thursday May 19, 2016 11:25 AM, News Network

Thiruvananthapuram: Live Result Update: 11:00 AM:
The LDF is set to win in Kerala. After counting of votes began today morning trends available till 11:00 am showed that the LDF and allies have won 21 seats and are leading in 71 seats.

The Congress-led UDF has won 10 seats and is ahead in 37 assembly seats. The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in just 01 assembly constituency.

Live Result Update: 10:00 AM: The LDF is set to win in Kerala. After counting of votes began today morning trends available till 10:00 am showed that the LDF and allies are leading in 82 seats and looks set to form government for the next five years.

The final results in 03 constituencies have declared the LDF as winners.

The Congress led UDF is ahead in 54 assembly seats. The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is also leading in 02 assembly constituencies.

Live Result Update: 08:30 AM: The left led LDF and Congress led UDF alliances are in neck-and-neck battle in Kerala. After few initital rounds of counting, the UDF is leading in 41 seats, while the LDF is ahead in 45 assembly seats.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is also leading in 03 assembly constituencies.

Based at Palakkad, CPI-M veteran and former chief minister V.S. Achuthanandan called it a wave in favour of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

“This is a vote against the corrupt and those who failed to protect the dignity of women,” said an elated Achuthanandan, eyeing a second term as chief minister.

In contrast, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy looked gloomy although he himself was on the winning track in Puthupally constituency.

As early as Thursday, Chandy appeared confident that the UDF would somehow retain power, beating back a strong challenge from the Left led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M).

The UDF suffered a huge setback in districts like Kollam and Thrissur besides Ernakulam and Thiruvananthapuram.

Former central minister and BJP veteran O. Rajagopal maintained his lead in Nemom constituency in the capital district. If he wins, he will be the first BJP member to enter the Kerala assembly.

An independent candidate led in one seat.

At least five state ministers trailed. Besides Achuthanandan, his party colleague Pinarayi Vijayan, who is also a chief ministerial hopeful, was also leading.

Earlier, the counting of votes for the crucial Assembly Elections in four states including Kerala and a Union Territory began at 8 am. ALl results are expected by 3 pm, according to the Election Commission.

The voter turnout in Kerala for the assembly elections was a tad higher at 77.35 percent as compared to 75.12 percent in the previous elections, an official said here on Tuesday.

Kozhikode district recorded the highest voter participation at 81.89 percent followed by Kannur at 80.63 percent, said the official of the Election Commission.

Pathanamthitta district recorded the lowest voter turnout at 71.66 per cent.

The state recorded polling of 71 percent till six p.m. on Monday, but there were long queues of voters at some polling stations at that time, Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha said on Monday in New Delhi.

"All those in queues at that time would be allowed to vote," Sinha had said.

The final turnout figure went up to 77.35 percent as compared to 75.12 per cent in the 2011 assembly polls, said the official here on Tuesday.

Counting of votes is scheduled on Thursday.

A total of 1,203 contestants, including 109 women, are vying for 140 seats of Kerala's 14th assembly.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of