Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Sena wins in Sinnar, Manmad, Nandgaon; Sangamner votes for Cong, NCP retains Yeola
Monday November 28, 2016 5:20 PM, News Network

Sangamner Nagarpalika
[Congress won in 23 wards of Sangamner civic body out of the total 28 wards.]

Giving a big blow to the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Shiv Sena on Monday scored a historic win in Nandgaon civic elections winning 11 out of the total 17 seats.

The NCP which was earlier ruling here in the Chhagan Bhujbal bastion could win 04 seats. The Congress party emerged victorious in 02 wards.

The NCP received blow in the neighboring Manmad civic elections. In Manmad Nagar Palika polls, the NCP could win in 04 wards as against the Shiv Sena which won elections in 19 wards.

The Congress won in 04 wards of Manmad Nagar Palika.

The NCP however retained Yeola Nagar Palika where it won 10 seats. Shiv Sena won on 05 seats, BJP won on 04 seats whereas 05 seats went to Independent candidates.

In other cities and towns of Nashik district where civic elections were held on Sunday, Congress won in 23 wards of Sangamner civic body out of the total 28 wards. The Shiv Sena won on 02 seats whereas the NCP and BJP won in 01 ward each.

In Satana Nagar Palika elections, Shahar Vikas Aghadi emerged victorious. The party won in 07 of the total 21 wards as against the BJP 06 seats, NCP 05 seats, Congress 02 seats and 01 Independent.

Elsewhere in the state, Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has won on 08 wards in the Municipal Council election of Umerkhed, Yavatmal district of Maharashra's Vidarbha region.

The AIMIM with 08 seats is so far is the highest tally by any party in Umerkhed.

According to preliminary reports, besides AIMIM winning on 08 seats, the BJP has won 07, Shiv Sena 04, Congress 03 and NCP 01 seats.

The AIMIM further consolidated its support base in Maharashtra by winning civic elections in Shahada, Nanurdbar district and Beed where counting of votes is still underway.

According to the preliminary reports, the AIMIM has won 04 seats in Shahada - a small town near Dhule in North Maharashtra.

Preliminary reports also said that the AIMIM has won 02 seats in Beed.

The AIMIM, a party based in Hyderabad, had earlier won civic elections in Nanded and Aurangabad. The party also won two seats in 2014 Maharashtra assembly polls.

Shahada Nagar Palika has a total of 27 seats. Here the Congress has won on 11 seats, BJP on 10 seats and the NCP has won 01 seat.

Against this number, the AIMIM with 04 seats will play important role in electing the president in the Shahada Municipal Council.

Counting of votes began on Monday morning in the election to 147 municipal councils and 17 nagar panchayats across 25 districts in Maharashtra where polling was held Sunday November 27, 2016.

Ovreall results at 03:30 pm - Out of 3,705 seats spread over the 147 municipal councils and 17 nagar panchayats, total seats declared 1349 - BJP 334, SS 228, NCP 287, INC 201, AIMIM 6, MNS 5
BSP 3, UNRECOG 55, Local Coalition 112, Independent 124, according to Keshav Upadhye, Maharashtra state spokesperson of BJP.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of