Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Taj Mahal, 16 other sites to be developed as Iconic Tourist Sites: Alphons

Tuesday July 24, 2018 11:21 PM, News Network

Taj Mahal

New Delhi: Ministry of Tourism has identified Taj Mahal and 16 other sites in 12 clusters of the country for development under "Iconic Tourist Sites Development Project", the Union Government said on Tuesday.

The 17 sites the government has shortlisted to develop as "Iconic Tourist Sites" are Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri in Uttar Pradesh, Ajanta and Ellora in Maharashtra, Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort and Qutub Minar in Delhi, Colva beach in Goa, Amer Fort in Rajasthan, Somnath and Dholavira in Gujarat, Khajuraho in Madhya Pradesh, Hampi in Karnataka, Mahabalipuram in Tamil Nadu, Kaziranga in Assam, Kumarakom in Kerala and Mahabodhi in Bihar.

"The ministry will develop the above sites in a holistic manner with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion and branding and by bringing in private investment", Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism K. J. Alphons, said in a written reply in Rajya Sabha on Tuesday.

The monuments taken up for development under the above mentioned project fall under the jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) and State Archaeology Departments.

"The ministry will carry out interventions at these monuments in collaboration with the ASI and State Government, and all development plans will have elements of universal accessibility, cleanliness at the monuments, use of Green Technology and enhanced security for the tourists", the minister said.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of