Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Election

Actor Ajaz Khan seeks AIMIM ticket for 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Election

Mumbra Kalwa Assembly seat is represented by Jitendra Awhad of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) since 2019

Sunday August 25, 2019 2:37 PM, ummid.com News Network

Ejaz Khan AIMIM Mumbra

Mumbai: While announcing his intention to contest the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Election, Bollywood Actor Ajaz Khan has sought All India Majlis e Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) ticket from Mumbra Kalwa assembly constituency.

Actor Ejaz Khan made public his intention to contest the Maharashtra state election from Mumbra Kalwa Vidhan Sabha seat during a visit to Mumbra on Friday. State election in Maharashtra is scheduled to be held in the month of October 2019.

Ajaz Khan visited Mumbra after a meeting with AIMIM Mumbra leaders on Thursday. The video of Ajaz Khan's meeting with AIMIM Mumbra leaders went viral on the social media.

"People of Mumbra along with AIMIM Mumbra leaders came to me and they invited me to visit the area. I am shocked to see the pathetic condition under which people in Mumbra are living", he said while talking to reporters.

"The reason why people are suffering here is they do not have a leader who can fight to resolve their issues. They are electing wrong people all the time. This is why they arte forced to live under such a condition", he said.

In reply to a question, Ejaz Khan said he was very much interested in contesting the 2019 Mahrashtra state election from Mumbra-Kalwa Vidhan Sabha Seat and a final decision will be taken by AIMIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi.

"Who will ultimately contest the 2019 election from Mumbra-Kalwa Assembly Seat will be decided by AIMIM Asaduddin Owaisi. If given the ticket, I will definitely contest the 2019 Mumbra election as AIMIM candidate", he said when told that there are at least 07 others who are seeking the AIMIM ticket from Mumbra-Kalwa.

Mumbra Kalwa Assembly seat is represented by Jitendra Awhad of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) since 2019.

The AIMIM had fought the Maharashtra Assembly Elections for the first time in 2014. The party had won 02 seats - one from Byculla, Mumbai and the other from Aurangabad Centre in Marathwada area of Maharashtra.

The AIMIM had fielded Ashraf Mulani from Mumbra Kalwa Vidhan Sabha in the 2014 elections. Mulani however came third with 16,374 votes. The 2014 election was won by Jitendra Awhad who bagged 86,533 votes and defeated his nearest rival Dashrat Patil of Shiv Sena who got 38,850 votes.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com