Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
MIM'S Advocate Waris Pathan wins Byculla seat in Mumbai
Sunday October 19, 2014 1:48 PM, Staff Reporter

: Advocate Waris Pathan of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has reigstered a historic win in Mumbai's Byculla assembly constituency, it is oficially announced here after the vote count.

Waris Pathan has defetaed his nearest rival Madhu Chavan of BJP by over 1,200 votes. Congress candidate Madhu Chavan came a distant third.

Byculla and Madanpura aeas in this constituency had earleir seen a mssive swing of Muslim votes in favour of the AIMIM.

Elsewhere in Maharashtra, Maharashtra president Syed Moeen is leading by a comfortable margin, officials announced after 11 rounds of voting in this important city in the Marathwada region.

Syed Moeen had led the AIMIM to victory in 2013 when the Hyderabad party won 13 seats in the civic elections.

Imtiyaz Jaleel and Dr Gaffar Qadri of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) who contested the 2014 Maharashtra elections from Aurangabad (Central) and Aurangabad (East) assembly seats respectively are leading, the trends available at 12:00 showed.

In Aurangabad (Central) AMIM's Imtiyaz Jaleel, a NDTV reporter, is leading by over 20,000 votes whereas in Aurangabad (East) constituency Dr Gaffar Qadri is leading by over 5,000 votes.

In Malegaon (Central) assembly seat where 11 rounds of counting have been completed, MIM's Abdul Malik has secured 11,965 votes. Asif Shaikh of Congress is leading here with 56,868 votes. Sitting MLA Mufti Ismael of NCP is trailing on the second position with 40,839 votes.

Sabir Seth of the Congress party is trailing in Dhule (Central) assembly seat. He is on the fourth position in the seat where the BJP candidate is leading. Raju Kadam Bande of the NCP is trailing on the second position.

In Dhule (Outer) assembly seat, Anil Gote of the BJP is leading by over 10,000 votes.

Arif Naseem Khan, a minister in the last Cong-NCP government is leading in Mumbai's Chandiwali assembly constituency, trends show after five rounds of votes. Arif Naseem Khan is contesting fourth time from this seat, and won three times in a row.

Rasheed Tahir Momin of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Farhan Azmi of the Samajwadi Party (SP) are trailing behind their rivals in their respective constituencies in Bhiwandi.

While Rashid Tahir Momin is trailing behind the BJP candidate by about 07,000 votes, Farhan Azmi, son of SP Chief Abu Asim Azmi is trailing behind the Shiv Sena candidate by about 04,500 votes.

Asif Shaikh Rasheed, President of Malegaon Congress party, is leading in Malegaon - Central assembly seat.

After the fourth round of vote count, Asif has bagged 25,783 votes whereas his nearest rival and sitting MLA Mufti Ismael of NCP could get just 10,123 votes.

The MIM and Janata Dal candidates were on the third and fourth position with 3,744 and 1,468 votes respectively.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and former Home Minister RR Patil are trailing in their respective constituencies, trends available at 09:00 a.m. in the orning showed.

As the vote count begins in Maharashtra today morning, the leads show that the BJP is set to emrge as the single largest party whereas the Congress is set to face its worst defeat in Maharashtra.

Chavan contested from Karad in Western Maharashtra - a seat held by him and his father in the past.

As per the leads at 10:00 a.m., the BJP was leading in 114 of the total 287 seats where voting was in progress.

Its gormer alliance partner, the Shiv Sena was leading in 59 seats.

The Congress was ahead in just 49 seats whereas, the NCP was leading in 44 seats.

A total of 4,119 candidates are in fray for the 288-member assembly.

The contest is between five major parties - the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party and the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena.

Election officials are hopeful the first proper trends will be available by 10 a.m.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.