Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
11 Muslims in AAP's fourth list for 2014 Lok Sabha elections
Monday March 10, 2014 3:48 PM, Staff Reporter

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday released its fourth list for the 2014 Lok Sabha election scheduled to be held in April-May.

The list, which has a total of 61 candidates from Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh, also include 11 Muslims. Among them is one from Karnataka and rest are from Uttar Pradesh.

The names of Muslim candidates in the AAP fourth list are: Ashfaq Ahmed Madaki (Chikkodi , Karnataka), Sabir Rahi (Aligarh, UP), Mullana Kalbe Rushaid (Amroha, UP), Varis Aqbal Khan (Bhadoha, UP), Badre Alam ( Domariyaganj, UP), Zain Ul Haq (Fatehpur, UP), Mashooq Usmani (Gonda, UP), Dr. Mahmood Husain Rehmani (Kanpur, UP), Illyas Azmi (Lakhimpur, UP), Mohammed Yamin (Muzaffarnagar, UP) and Hurr Mehdi Baqri Sohail ( Sambhal, UP).

The AAP fourth list also has the name of noted journalist Ashish Khetan. Khetan will be contesting from New Delhi seat. Earlier associated with Tehelka, Khetan is famous for sting operations on Gujarat riots, and recently on Modi's alleged link with a woman.

The AAP, which intends to contest the 2014 Lok Sabha election on more than 300 seats, had earlier announced names of 70 candidates in three lists.

The AAP first list of 20 candidates had the name of Khalid Parvaiz (Moradabad, UP). In its second list of 30 candidates, the AAP had included the names of Dr. Raja Muzaffar Bhat (Srinagar, Jammu & Kahsmir), Capt. Abdul Nasir Hanfee (Jabalpur, Mahdya Pradesh) and Sameena Khan (Sangli, Maharashtra).

The third list of 20 candidates did not have any Muslim.

The Indian National Congress had on March 08 released its first list of 194 candidates which included a total of 16 Muslim candidates. They are: Ismail Husain (Barpeta, Assam), Mohammad Asrarul Haque Qasmi (Kishanganj, Bihar), Furkan Ansari (Godda, Jharkhand), Imran Masood (Saharanpur, UP), Kazim Ali Khan (Rampur, UP), Salim Iqbal Sherwani (Aonla, UP), Zafar Ali Naqvi (Kheri, UP), Salman Khursheed (Farrukhabad, UP), Mohammad Kaif (Phulpur, UP), Maqsood Khan (Ghazipur, UP), Sartaj Imam (Bhadohi, UP), Mausam Noor (Maldaha-Uttar, West Bengal), AH Khan Chaudhary (Maldaha -Dakshin, West Bengal), Abdul Mannan Husain (Murshidabad, West Bengal), Mohammad Qamurzzeman (Diamond Harbour, West Bengal) and Syed Siraj Jimmy (Birbhum, West Bengal).

The BJP has released two lists so far. They did not have the name of any Muslim.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.