Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
18 Muslims in AAP list of 272 candidates for Delhi MCD elections 2017

Wednesday April 5, 2017 11:04 PM, News Network

AAP Delhi

New Delhi:
Making tough for the Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded 18 Muslims in the upcoming Municiple Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections scheduled to be held on April 23. All 18 Muslims candidates filed their nominations on Monday along with other party nominees.

According to the final list released by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on the last day to file nominations, Majhabi Shahid Usmani will contest the elections from Jahangirpur Ward No. 21, Fareeda Khan will contest from Sangam Vihar B Ward No. 78, Mehmood will contest from Zakir Nagar Ward No. 100, Wajid Khan will contest from Abdul Fazal Enclave Ward No. 102,

Haji Shahnawaz wil contest from Ghondli Ward No. 23, Riazuddin will contest from Shastri Park Ward No. 25, Abdul Rahman will fight the election from Chauhan Banger Ward No. 41, Sajid Khan will contest from Kardampuri Ward No. 49, Haji Tahir Hussain from Nehru Vihar Ward No. 59 all North Delhi MCD Wards.

The AAP has also fielded Shaista from Shriram Colony Ward No. 64, Mohammad Sadiq from Ballimaran Ward No. 90-N, Aasma Masood from Seelampur Ward No. 42-E, Shakeela Begum from Mustafabad Ward No. 58-E, Aabid Ansari from Jaitpur Ward No. 98-S,

Juhi Khan from Sarita Vihar Ward No. 101-S, Aaquil Nannu from Delhi Gate Ward No. 088, Shahil Quraishi from Quraish Nagar Ward No. 089 and Samreen Begum Akki from Chandni Chowk Ward No. 085-N.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded a total of 06 Muslims in Delhi MCD elections.

Contesting the elections for the first time, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is contesting on 10 seats in Delhi. But, the party has fielded candidates from all castes and religion.

There are a total of 272 wards in the three Delhi Municipal Corporations, 104 each in South and North Delhi municipal corporations and 64 in the East Delhi municipal corporation.

The local elections on all 272 will be held on April 23 whereas counting of votes will be done on April 26.


Share this page
More Headlines
Construction work of Manmad-Malegaon-Indore Railway to begin within one year: Subhash Bhamre
Expectations run high as Smriti Irani unveils 'package' for textile sector via video link from Bhiwandi
Idea of India is not dead, it’s undergoing pangs of rebirth
Malaysia ready to help Japan develop halal industry ahead of Tokyo Olympics
Israel approves first new West Bank settlement in 20 years, flayed
Growing "abnormal" beard is a crime in China
Candidates above 25 years of age may apply for NEET 2017: CBSE
Furious warden in Adityanath's UP strips some 70 girl students to check who is menstruating
This Internet crystal ball can predict heart, diabetes risks
Islamabad asks India to respect ownership rights of Pakistan on Jinnah House
SC says have no time, rejects Swamy's plea for early hearing in Ayodhya case
Babri Masjid demolition case is not a matter for compromise
Electronic Voting Machines Deserve Multi-Party Control
EU delegation arrives in Rakhine to probe abuses against Rohingya Muslims
Triple Talaq a matter of utmost importance, will hear it during summer vacation: Supreme Court
In the wake of Trump ban, Qatar Airways to offer free Laptops on US Flights
Malegaon Honda dealer is selling BS III vehicles at 35-40% discount after SC ban
These Injection shots can keep your bones strong
Talaq given to pregnant wife is null and void, says Former Minister Rahman Khan
NEET 2017: Candidates can change their centre details till March 31 midnight
UPSC NDA, NA 2017 Exam I Admit Cards for non-Delhi centres released, of Delhi centre soon
Entrance Exams for Diploma in English for Madrasa Graduates in Deoband, Apply before April 10
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of