Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Trivendra Singh Rawat, RSS Pracharak and Amit Shah's man, sworn in as Uttarakhand Chief Minister

Saturday March 18, 2017 6:04 PM, & Agencies

Trivendra Singh Rawat

A long-time RSS pracharak, the BJP's Trivendra Singh Rawat, 56, Saturday sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. Rawat was sworn in at Dehradun's Parade Ground in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

Along with Rawat, nine MLAs including Prakash Pant and Satpal Maharaj, who had joined the party on the eve of the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from the Congress, took oath as Ministers. Pant and Maharaaj both were contenders of the CM post.

The BJP had swept the recently concluded Assembly elections winning 57 of the total 70 seats in the state. Rawat, a member of Amit Shah's core team, played a key role in the party's strategy in the victory.

Trivendra Singh Raway has been at the forefront of the campaign to carve out Uttarakhand from Uttar Pradesh back in nineties.

He was unanimously elected at the party legislature meeting on Friday, his name formally proposed by BJP leader Prakash Pant and seconded by Satpal Maharaj, the two BJP leaders in the race for the top post in the government.

Born in December 1960 into a family where serving in the armed forces was a tradition, with his father Pratap Singh Rawat in Garhwal Rifles, he studied in a school built of mud and thatch in his native village of Khairasain in Pauri Garhwal district. Though average in studies, Rawat evinced keen interest in socio-cultural work at an early age, a fact which explains his joining the RSS aged 19 years.

Six years later he was appointed RSS pracharak for Dehradun city. After an active association with the RSS for nearly 14 years, he was made BJP s organisational secretary. He was also actively associated with the Uttarakhand statehood agitation during which he was arrested several times.

Rawat, who is a post graduate in journalism from Garhwal University's Shrinagar campus, worked for many years as pradesh BJP organisation secretary before being elected for the first time from Doiwala seat in the state s first assembly elections in 2002. Rawat won again in 2007 and was made agriculture minister.

He is the ninth and youngest of his siblings who have still not forgotten their rural roots. One of his elder brothers is the post master of the village post office at Khairasain, while another grows aromatic plants on a piece of land near Jahariyakhal on a commercial scale.

Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of