Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Yogi Adityanath, Gorakhpur MP and Known Hardliner, named Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister

Saturday March 18, 2017 10:30 PM, & Agencies

Yogi Adityanath

Ending about a week's suspense, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) Saturday picked Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath, a known hardliner, as the next Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. He will sworn in as 32nd Chief Minister of the state along with two Deputy CMs and other cabinet ministers Sunday.

According to the party sources, Keshav Maurya and Dinesh Sharma have been named as Yogi's deputies.

Adityanath's name was proposed by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Suresh Khanna and was supported by Union Information and Broadcasting Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu.

Venkaiha Naidu later said all MLAs present in the meeting supported Yogi Adityanath as the state's chief minister. MLA Sangeet Som said "Yogi Adityanath was the first choice for BJP".

However, BJP insiders privy to the decision said that in many ways both Amit Shah and Narendra Modi were "arm twisted" into decision making.

"UP is different. Here people suffer from subdued arrogance and political empowerment...they are not too keen to follow blind diktats," said a senior journalist who did not rule out that the sulking Yogi could have put the prime minister and Shah under some "pressure".

Earlier, the name of Union Minister Manoj Sinha was taking round. But the BJP's 312 newly-elected MLAs met in Capital Lucknow and formally elected Yogi Adityanath as their new leader.

The name of Yogi Adityanath, also head priest of the Gorakhnath temple in eastern UP, began to do the rounds as a possible candidate only on Saturday afternoon. Adityanath, who has arrived at the BJP's legislature party meet, also flew down to New Delhi in the morning to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Sources said the party's ideological mentor, the RSS, has vetoed the party's top choice for Chief Minister, Union Telecom Minister Manoj Sinha. Sinha is a rebel in the RSS book. Following this BJP President Amit Shah met RSS leaders later in the day to finalise who would be Chief Minister.

Supporters of Yogi Adityanath were demanding since last one week from the top party leadership to make him chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. There was also a row before the UP elections when Yogi Aidtyanath demanded he be projected as CM.

As the BJP MLAs began the meeting to elect the Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath supporters cahnted "Yogi, Yogi".

Reports also said, supporters of Aadityanath storm the venue, chanting 'Desh me Modi, Pradesh me Yogi' in praise of the firebrand MP of Gorakhpur.

Adityanath was born in a village in present-day Uttrakhand in 1972 as Ajay Singh to a Rajput family. He later took the name ‘Adityanath’. He has been in the news for his polarizing statements. He has been accused of making hate speeches.

In 2015, he even declared that those who opposed ‘Surya Namaskar’ should prepared to leave India. In the same year, he led a “purification drive” to “re-convert” Christians to Hinduism.

In 2007, he staged a “non-violent dharna” during a Moharram procession in Gorakhpur. However, it was alleged that inflammatory speeches were made during the demonstrations and some of his followers allegedly set fire to a nearby mazar. Adityanath later broke a curefew and was jailed. Following his imprisonment, riots spread across Gorakhpur district.

Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of