Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Final Results: Congress bags Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh; Claims victory in MP, TRS back in Telangana

In Mizoram, as expected MNF unseated the Congress from power wining 26 of the total 40 seats

Wednesday December 12, 2018 7:41 AM, ummid.com News Network

Final Results December 2018 State Election Result

New Delhi/Bhopal/Jaipur/Hyderabad: In a spectacular comeback, Congress party on Tuesday defeated the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in its strongholds Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, and ended as a single largest party in Madhya Pradesh, though it is unclear if it will succeed in unseating the latter in this state.

According to the final results announced by the Election Commission Office after counting of votes which continued till late in the night Tuesday, Congress won 101 seats in Rajasthan whereas the BJP could win just 73 seats of the state assembly which has a total of 200 seats.

Others won 19 seats and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which refused an alliance with Congress before the elections, finished with just 06 seats.

State election results in Rajasthan was in the expected line and as per most of the exit polls. However, in Chhattisgarh Congress defied all survey and defeated the ruling BJP with a huge margin. According to the final results, Congress won 68 of the total 90 seats in Chhattisgarh. The BJP was claiming to retain power in the state where it had won last 03 consecutive elections. But it ended with just 15 seats.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) which contested Chhattisgarh state election forming an alliance with former Congress leader Ajit Jogi could win just 07 seats.

In Telangana, TRS retianed power in India's youngest state with a bang, winning 88 og the total 119 seats. Asuaddin Owaisi All India Majlis-e-IIttehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) tried hard to improve its tally by 01 seat. In the end however it was somehow able to retains its earlier tally of 07 seats in the Talangana assembly.

The Congress and Telugu Desham Party (TDP) had formed People's Front on Telangana. The front worked very hard to gain its lost ground. They however ended with juts 21 seats. Telangana also refused the communal and divisive politics of BJP which could win just 01 seat.

In Mizoram, as expected MNF unseated the Congress from power wining 26 of the total 40 seats. Congress could win just 05 seats in Mizoram, BJP 01 and others 08.

The most thrilling election contest was in Madhya Pradesh. The ruling BJP and Congress both were in a tight race since start of the counting at 08:00 am Tuesday. At times, it emerged that the two parties will end with equal number of seats in the state. However, after a late night drama, Congress claimed victory in Madhya Pradesh too.

According to the final results announced by the election commissio, Congress won 115 seats in Madhya Pradesh - just short of the halfway mark in the house having a total of 230 seats.

The ruling BJP which was contesting for a 4th consecutive win, ended with 108 seats in its pocket. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won just 02 seats and other won 05.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com