Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics

Salman Khursheed, Imran Masood, Saleem Iqbal in Congress 1st list for 2019 LS Polls

Sonia Gandhi, and not Priyanka Gandhi, will contest the 2019 Parliament elections from Rae Bareli

Thursday March 7, 2019 10:23 PM, ummid.com News Network

Congress first list for 2019 Polls

[Salman Khursheed with Congress President Rahul Gandhi in a file photo.]

New Delhi: Former Union Minister Salman Khursheed, Imran Masood and Saleem Iqbal Shervani are among the 15 candidates who figured in the first list of the Congress party released today for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections due to be held in April/May.

Unlike speculations that Priyanka Gandhi will contest the 2019 parliamentary elections from Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh, Congress has decided to field Sonia Gandhi, her mother and former Congress President, from the seat. Sonia has held the Rae Bareli seat for the last five terms.

Congress Party Rahul Gandhi will contest from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, according to the first list of Congress for the 2019 General Elections. Rahul is sitting MP of Amethi and had defeated Union Minister Smriti Irani in the 2014 polls.

Senior Congress leader and former Union Law Minister Salman Khursheed has been fielded from Farrukhabad, his home constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He had lost the seat in the 2014 polls.

Imran Masood has been fielded from Saharanpur parlaimentry seat whereas Saleem Iqbal Shervani has been given the party ticket to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Badaun parliamentary seat.

Others who have been given Congress ticket are Jitin Prasad from Dhaurahra in Uttar Pradesh, Annu Tandon from Unnao in Uttar Pradesh, Rajaram Pal from Akbarpur, Uttar Pradesh, Nirmal Khatri from Faizabad and RPN Singh from Khushi Nagar, Uttar Pradesh.

04 candidates including Raju Parmar, Bharat Solanki, Prashant Patel and Ranjit Rathwa have been nominated as Congress candidates from Ahmedabad West, Anand, Vadodara and Chhota Udaipur - all in Gujarat.

Meanwhile, its is expected that the Election Commission of India will release the 2019 Election Schedule on Friday March 08. The tenure of the current ends on May 26 and a new government should sworn in before that.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com