Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Modi's New Cabinet: Check List of Ministers, their Portfolios

Narendra Singh Tomar will be new Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of Rural Development and Minister for Panchayati Raj

Friday May 31, 2019 11:06 PM, IANS

Modi Cabinet Minister's Portfolios

[President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other members of Council of Ministers after the Swearing-in Ceremony, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on May 30, 2019.]

New Delhi: Hours after Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his 57-member council of ministers were sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday, it is learnt that several of the top ministers have been given the following portfolios:

1. PM Modi will be in charge of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space and all other portfolios not allocated to any minister;

2. Rajnath Singh will be the Minister of Defence;

3. Amit Shah will be the Minister of Home;

4. Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Road Transport & Highways, Minister of Shipping, Minister of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation;

5. DV Sadanand Gowda, Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation;

6. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs;

6. S Jaishankar, Minister of External Affairs;

7. Ravi Shankar Prasad, Minister of Law and Justice, Minister of Electronics and Information Technology;

8. Ramesh Pokhriyal, Minister of Health and Family Welfare;

9. Smriti Zubin Irani, Minister of Women and Child Development;

10. Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of Rural Development and Minister for Panchayati Raj;

11. Thawar Chand Gehlot, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment.

The others who have sworn as minister Thursday but have not yet been allotted a portfolio are Prakash Javadekar, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Badal.

The new cabinet has as many as 20 new faces while some of the most visible faces of Modi's last cabinet-- finance minister Arun Jaitley, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and commerce minister Suresh Prabhu have been dropped from the ministry.

While Jaitley's omission had become public on Wednesday as he opted out on health grounds, the absence of Sushma and Prabhu came as a surprise. A bigger surprise, however, was the inclusion of former foreign secretary S. Jaishankar into the cabinet.

Other prominent names who have been dropped are Rajyavardhan Rathore, Jayant Sinha and Maneka Gandhi.

The tallest among the first-time ministers is party president Amit Shah who was seated third in the row of seniority after the PM and Rajnath Singh. He was followed by Nitin Gadkari and Sadanand Gowda.

Those who fought valiantly in the election were rewarded even if they were first-time MPs. Among them are first-time MP from Secunderabad G Krishan Reddy, Kailash Choudhary, a young BJP leader who fought a tough battle in Barmer against Madhavendra Singh of the Congress (formerly with BJP) and Debashree Choudhary, who won from Raiganj in West Bengal in a tough fight.

Pratap Chandra Sarangi, first-time MP from Balasore in Odisha, got the maximum cheers as he is already known on the internet for his humble lifestyle, has also been made a minister.

Even among allies, Arvind Sawant of Shiv Sena who defeated Milind Deora of Congress in South Mumbai, has joined the cabinet.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com