Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 Results Live

Meghalaya Assembly 2023 Election Live Result

Meghalaya Assembly 2023 Election Result: Cong president Vincent Pala loses

Counting of votes in Meghalaya will begin at 08:00 am in the morning with Postal Ballots. Votes registered in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be counted after postal ballots. Read More

Thursday March 2, 2023 7:34 PM, ummid.com News Network

Meghalaya Assembly 2023 Election Result: Vote Count Today

Meghalaya State Election Result 2023 Live Updates: In a major setback to the Congress, its Meghalaya unit president and Lok Sabha MP Vincent Pala lost the assembly election. He was defeated by the NPP candidate Santa Mary Shylla.

Pala was contesting from the Sutnga Saipung assembly seat. He got 14,866 votes while Shylla bagged 16,719 votes. The United Democratic Party candidate Shitlang Pale came third with 10,224 votes.


BJP candidate Krison Langstang was a distant fourth with only 420 votes.

After Mukul Sangma's departure, Vincent Pala was the face of the Congress party in the assembly poll.

Overall, the Congress party has put up a poor show in Meghalaya, managing to win only five seats this time. In 2018, the Congress won 21 seats and was the single largest party in the state.

However, the grand old party could not form the government then and Conrad Sangma's National People's Party along with the BJP and some smaller regional parties ruled the hill state for the last five years.

02:00 pm: James Sangma, brother of Conrad Sangma and a cabinet minister in Meghalaya, loses from Dadenggre Assembly Constituency, according to the final result of the state assmebly polls announced Thursday.

James Sangma is NPP's tallest leader next only to Chief Minister Conrad Sangma.

Meanwhile, according to the trends at 01:45 pm, National People's Party (NPP) is ahead on 26 seats, BJP on 03 seats and Congress on 5 seats.

Independents and others are ahead on 25 seats.

11:35 am: As counting of votes is currently underway in Meghalaya, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma is leading from his South Tura constituency, while Trinamool Congress leader Mukul Sangma has also taken a lead against his NPP rival in Songsak.

However, the state's BJP president Ernest Mawrie is trailing in West Shillong constituency.

Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister and NPP candidate Prestone Tynsong is leading from the Pynursla seat.

The Conrad Sangma-led NPP is leading in at least 24 seats, while the BJP is leading in seven.

Trinamool Congress is leading in 3 seats and Congress in three.

09:00 am: National People's Party (NPP) candidates are ahead in most of the seats in Meghalaya where counting of votes for the 2023 assmebly polls began today morning.

According to the trends at 09:00 am, National People's Party (NPP) is ahead on 25 seats, BJP on 11 seats and Congress on 6 seats.

Independents and others are projected to win 13 seats in the 60 member Meghalaya assembly.

02:30 am: Counting of votes cast in the recently-held Assembly elections in Meghalaya will take place today i.e. Thursday March 02, 2023 under three-tier security measures involving the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF), poll officials said.

The poll officials said that prohibitory orders under 144 Cr Pc have been promulgated in and around all the locations of the counting centers as a precautionary measure.

Final Results by afternoon

Counting of votes in Meghalaya will begin at 08:00 am in the morning with Postal Ballots. Votes registered in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be counted after postal ballots.

The final election result of all 60 seats of the Meghalaya Assembly - candidate wise as well as constituency wise, were expected to be declared by today afternoon. However, party wise and candidate wise trends will start coming by 09:00 am today.

Assembly elections were held on February 27 in Meghalaya, where 85.17 per cent of the 21.75 lakh voters exercised their franchise.

Voter turnout was 87.97 per cent and 86.65 per cent in 2013 and 2018 Assembly elections, respectively.

Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) F.R. Kharkongor told IANS that vote counting will take place at 13 centres in all 12 district headquarters and one sub-divisional headquarter in Sohra.

The polling could not be held in Sohiong Assembly Constituency in East Khasi Hills district following the death of United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate H. Donkupar Roy Lyngdoh, who died on February 20 due to illness.

13 political parties

In all, 13 political parties, including four having national status -- BJP, Congress, National People's Party (NPP) and Trinamool Congress -- are contesting the election.

The BJP and the Congress have put up 60 candidates each, while main opposition Trinamool Congress nominated 56 candidates, Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma-led NPP fielded 57 candidates, United Democratic Party (UDP) 46, Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) 11, People's Democratic Front nine, Gana Suraksha Party one, Garo National Council two, Janata Dal (United) three, Republican Party of India two, Republican Party of India (Athawale) six, Voice of the People Party 18.

In all, 44 independent candidates are also contesting the elections. The HSPDP is contesting mainly in assembly seats of Ri-Bhoi, East Khasi Hills and West Khasi Hill districts.

Key candidates

Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma is seeking re-election from South Tura seat. BJP has fielded Bernad M Marak against the NPP chief. Former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma (2010-2018) is contesting from two assembly seats -- Songsak and Tikrikilla - both in Garo hills while state Congress President and Lok Sabha Member from Shillong parliamentary seat Vincent H Pala is contesting from Sutnga Saipung in East Jaintia Hills.

BJP's two sitting MLAs Alexander Laloo Hek and Sanbor Shullai are contesting from Pynthorumkhrah and South Shillong seats respectively while state party President Ernest Mawrie is contesting from West Shillong seat.

Prominent other candidates in the fray include Deputy Chief Minister and NPP leader Prestone Tynsong (Pynursla), Assembly Speaker and UDP President Metbah Lyngdoh (Mairang), Home Minister and UDP leader Lahkmen Rymbui (Amlarem), former Assembly Speaker and NPP leader Abu Taher Mondal (Phulbari).

Meghalaya Election Result 2018

Meghalaya threw up a hung Assembly in 2018 with the ruling Congress emerging as the single largest party, winning 21 seats out the 59 that went to polls in the last assembly elections.

The National People's Party (NPP) was at the second position with 19 seats, according the results, UDP and allies won 08 seats and other won 09 seats. The BJP, which contested 47 seats, could win only 02 seats in Meghalaya.


For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Google News

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com