More on Ummid : International l National Regional l Politics Sports Religion l History l Culture l Education


The Pillars of Islam
By Aleem Faizee





Related Articles

Hijab-The Veil, why is so much fuss

  about it???

My Hijab made me happy

Crossing to Atlantic with a Quran

  in hand

Media: Tired of Islam thrust in our faces



The word ISLAM is derived from the Arabic word “SALEMA” which means peace, submission, purity and obedience. Islam means, therefore, submission to the will of Allah and obedience to His law. A Muslim must follow rules prescribed by Allah, the Almighty through His Prophet (PBUH). There are five compulsory principles to be followed by every Muslim.


The Prophet of Allah said: Islam is based on (the following) five (principles):

1. To testify that none has the right to be worshipped but Allah and Muhammad is Allah’s Apostle.


2. To offer the (compulsory congregational) prayers dutifully and perfectly.


3. To pay Zakat (i.e. obligatory charity).


4. To perform Hajj (i.e. Pilgrimage to Makkah).


5. To observe fast during the month of Ramadan.

(Sahih Al-Bukhari; Narrated by Ibn Umar)


1. What is TAUHEED:

Tauheed is the creed. It is the commitment and pledge that there is no god but Allah and Mohammad (PBUH) is the messenger of Allah.


This is the proclamation that everyone in the world has to make. The announcement that there is no god we worship but Allah and Mohammad (PBUH) is the messenger of Allah.


The Holy Qur’aan says:

“Believe in Allah and His Apostle and spend [in charity] out of the [substance] whereof He has made you heirs. For those of you who believe and spend [in charity] for them is a great Reward.”

(Surah Al-Hadid; Ayah 7)

Abu Malik says; “ I heard the Prophet of Allah [PBUH] say: He who professed that there is no god but Allah and made a denial of everything which the people worship besides Allah, his property and blood became inviolable, and their affairs rest with Allah.”

(Sahih Muslim)


Proclaiming this, everyone owe to Almighty Allah and if one does not do this he will be doing shirk with Allah and it is strictly denounced for anyone in the world to worship other than Allah.


2. What is SALAT:

Salat is the prayers, five times in a day, to be observed compulsorily by every Muslim.

The Holy Qur’aan says:

“Guard strictly [five obligatory] prayers especially the middle prayer and stand before Allah in a devout [frame of mind].”

(Surah Al-Baqarah; Ayah 238)

It is made compulsory for Muslim males, unless one has some valid reason, to offer all five prayers in the mosque. The Prophet had even granted the women to go to mosque and offer their prayers.

The Prophet said:

"If your women ask permission to go to the mosque at night, allow them."

(Sahih Al-Bukhari; Narrated by Ibn Umar)

Offering prayers five times daily is so important an act

that one cannot abandon offering it even during the war. It is

compulsory till the last breathe of a Muslim. But Allah,

The Creature knows human weaknesses and therefore gives clear and specific instructions for offering prayers if a person is ill or if Muslims are in war.

3. What is SAUM:

Saum is the fasting to be observed by every Muslim in the month of Ramdhan.

The Holy Qur’aan says:

“O you who believe! Observing fasting is prescribed for you as it was prescribed to those before you, that you may become Al-Muttaqeen [learn self-restrain].”

(Surah Al-Baqarah; Ayah 183)

4. What is ZAKAT:

Zakat is the percentage of the wealth and property to be separated by a Muslim, which is distributed to poor and kept for other rightful beneficiaries and expenditure of a Muslim government. This is an annual Tax and is compulsory for Muslims who have sufficient wealth. Islam has specific and very clear directives for the percentage of Zakat.

The Holy Qur’aan says:

“And they have been commanded no more than this, to worship Allah offering Him sincere devotion being true [in faith]; to establish regular prayer; and to practice regular Zakat [charity] and that is the right religion and straight.”

(Surah Al-Baiyina; Ayah 5)


5. What is HAJJ:

Hajj is the pilgrimage to Makkah once in a lifetime. It is made compulsory for those Muslims anywhere in the world who can bear the expenses of the pilgrimage financially and physically.

The Holy Qur’aan says:

“In it are signs manifest; [for example] the Station of Abraham; whoever enters it attains security; pilgrimage thereto is a duty men owe to Allah those who can afford the journey; but if any deny faith Allah stands not in need of any of his creatures.”

                (Surah Al-Imran: Ayah 97)



Home | Top of the page                                                                                               Comment on this article



Ummid.com: Home | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | About Us | Feedback

Ummid Business: Advertise with us | Careers | Link Exchange

Ummid.com is part of The Awaz Networks providing world news, news analysis, Islamic news, news related to Muslim community, education, health. politics, technology, sports, entertainment, industries etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and condition mentioned.