Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Baba Siddqui, Nawab Malik defeated in Maharashtra state elections
Sunday October 19, 2014 7:12 PM, Staff Reporter

Ziauddin Baba Siddiqui and Nawab Malik, two senior leaders of the Congress and NCP respectively have lost the Maharashtra assembly elections in their respective constituencies in Mumbai, poll officials announced Sunday after counting of the votes.

Baba Siddiqui
[Cover page of Baba Siddqui used on his Facebook page during election campaign.]

Baba Siddqui, who contested the elections from Bandra (West) in Mumbai and is known for his close proximity to filmstars and bollywood, lost to the BJP candidate by a huge margin. Baba Sidiqui was the sitting MLA from this seat.

Nawab Malik, who is the spokesperson of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) also lost the elections to the BJP candidate. He contested the elections from Mumbai's Anushakti Nagar.

Elsewhere in Maharashtra, Asif Shaikh Rasheed of the Congress party defeated his nearest rival and sitting MLA Mufti Mohammad Ismael of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in the Malegaon (Central) assembly seat, officials announced Sunday after counting of the votes.

Asif Shaikh got over 75,000 defeating Mufti Ismael by over 16,000 votes.

MIM's Abdul Malik, who got 21,213 votes, stood second whereas Bulund Iqbal, son of veteran Janata Dal (S) leader Nihal Ahmed was a distant third with 06,758 votes.

The result is in line with the exit poll conducted by In the exit poll conducted by and published Friday, Asif Shaik was projected to get about 79,000 votes. Mufti Ismael was projected as getting about 58,000 votes whereas MIM's Abdul Malik and JD's Bulund Iqbal were projected as getting 23,000 and 02,500 votes respectively.

Hasan Mushrif and Abdus Sattar have also won the elctions. While Hasan Mushrif, a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate, has won the election from Kagal assembly seat, Abdus Sattar of the Congress Party has won from Sillod. Both the Muslim leaders have won from these seats second time in a row.

Abu Asim Azmi defeated his nearest rival of BJP by over 10,000 votes. This is the second time Azmi has won this seat. In the 2009 state elections Azmi had won from two seats - Mankhurd and the other Bhiwandi.

His son Farhan Azmi who contested the elction from Bhiwandi lost the seat to Shiv Sena's Rupesh Matre.

Farhan Azmi had contested this seat in the 2010 by-election ater his father Abu Asim Azmi resigned from this seat. He had however lost the election then also.

Arif Naseem Khan, former Minister of Minority Development Department, Awkaf and Textiles, won the Chandiwali assembly seat for the fourth time in a row.

Amin Patel, Chairman of Maulana Azad Corporation, won from Mumbadevi assembly seat for second time in a row.

The Mumbadevi assembly constituency saw a swing of Muslim votes in favour of the MIM, and it was feared that Amin Patel would lose the election becuase of the division of secualr votes. However, a sensible voting by the Muslim community helped him to win the election.

Imtiyaz Jaleel and Dr Gaffar Qadri of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) who contested the 2014 Maharashtra elections from Aurangabad (Central) and Aurangabad (East) assembly seats respectively have won the elections, it is officially announced here after the vote count.

In Aurangabad (Central) AMIM's Imtiyaz Jaleel, a NDTV reporter, has won the election by over 18,000 votes whereas in Aurangabad (East) constituency Dr Gaffar Qadri won by a huge margin.

It is a historic win for the Hyderabad based party which had fielded a total of 24 candidates in this elections.

Waris Pathan has defetaed his nearest rival Madhu Chavan of BJP by over 1,200 votes. Congress candidate Madhu Chavan came a distant third.

Byculla and Madanpura aeas in this constituency had earleir seen a mssive swing of Muslim votes in favour of the AIMIM.

Maharashtra president Syed Moeen is leading by a comfortable margin, officials announced after 11 rounds of voting in this important city in the Marathwada region.

Syed Moeen had led the AIMIM to victory in 2013 when the Hyderabad party won 13 seats in the civic elections.

Sabir Seth of the Congress party is trailing in Dhule (Central) assembly seat. He is on the fourth position in the seat where the BJP candidate is leading. Raju Kadam Bande of the NCP is trailing on the second position.

In Dhule (Outer) assembly seat, Anil Gote of the BJP is leading by over 10,000 votes.

Rasheed Tahir Momin of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Farhan Azmi of the Samajwadi Party (SP) are trailing behind their rivals in their respective constituencies in Bhiwandi.

While Rashid Tahir Momin is trailing behind the BJP candidate by about 07,000 votes, Farhan Azmi, son of SP Chief Abu Asim Azmi is trailing behind the Shiv Sena candidate by about 04,500 votes.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and former Home Minister RR Patil are trailing in their respective constituencies, trends available at 09:00 a.m. in the orning showed.

As the vote count begins in Maharashtra today morning, the leads show that the BJP is set to emrge as the single largest party whereas the Congress is set to face its worst defeat in Maharashtra.

Chavan contested from Karad in Western Maharashtra - a seat held by him and his father in the past.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.