Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Maharashtra elections: Winners and losers, all in the family!
Sunday October 19, 2014 7:48 PM, IANS

Family relations mixed well with politics as the results of the Maharashtra assembly elections trickled out here Sunday.

At least two father-son pairs won in different parts of the state and in two instances, while fathers lost, their sons scored victories.

Senior Congressman and former chief minister (when in Shiv Sena) Narayan Rane lost from Kudal, while his son Nitesh Rane won from Kankavali, both in Sindhudurg district of coastal Konkan.

Similarly, Nationalist Congress Party's former minister Ganesh Naik bit the dust in Belapur, but son Sandeep Naik scored handsomely, both in Navi Mumbai.

NCP strongman Chhagan Bhujbal won from his bastion, Yeola, while his son Pankaj Bhujbal also bagged Nandgaon seat, both in Nashik.

Bahujan Vikas Aghadi chief Hitendra Thakur won the Vasai seat and his son Kshitij Thakur also bagged the neighbouring Nallasopara seat, both in Thane.

Raosaheb Shekhawat, son of former president Pratibha Patil, lost in Amravati to BJP's Sunil Deshmukh. Incidentally, Deshmukh was earlier with Congress, but rebelled in 2009 when Shekhawat was given the party ticket.

Sons of veteran Congressman and Bihar Governor D.Y. Patil's sons lost - Satej Patil (Congress) from Kolhapur South and Ajeenkya Patil (Shiv Sena) from Karad South.

Late union minister Gopinath Munde's daughters continued his traditions by bagging the Beed Lok Sabha and Parli assembly constituencies for the Bharatiya Janata Party.

While Pritam Munde won the parliamentary seat with a margin of over 600,000 votes, Pankaja Munde bagged the Parli assembly.

Late union minister Vilasrao Deshmukh's son Amit Deshmukh won from Latur, while former union minster Sushilkumar Shinde's daughter Praniti Shinde bagged Solapur Central constituencies, both as Congress candidates.

Former chief minister Ashok Chavan's wife Ameeta won the Bhokar seat in Nanded district with a margin of over 50,000 votes on a Congress ticket.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.