Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Life & Style
Dr Zakir Naik, four others awarded King Faisal International Prize
Wednesday February 4, 2015 8:28 PM, Joshua Hoey

Dr. Zakir Naik and Dr. Abdulaziz Bin Abdulrahman Kaki were among the five recipients of this year's King Faisal International Prize. The winners were announced at a ceremony held in Riyadh on Tuesday evening, with the prize for Arabic Language and Literature being withheld.

Zakir Naik

The prize for Services to Islam went to Dr. Zakir Naik, president of the Islamic Foundation of India, while the prize for Islamic Studies went to Dr. Abdulaziz Bin Abdulrahman Kaki, consultant at the Al-Madinah Al-Munawwarah Development Commission.

The prize for Medicine went to Jeffrey Ivan Gordon, Director of the Centre of Genome Sciences and Systems Biology at Washington University, while the prize for science was dually awarded to Michael Gratzel, director of the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, and Omar Mwannes Yaghi, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of California, Berkeley.

This year's recipients were announced by the Secretary General of the King Faisal International Prize, Abdullah Bin Saleh Al-Uthaimin, with Prince Khalid Al-Faisal, Emir of Makkah and director of the King Faisal Foundation, opening the ceremony at Riyadh's Al Khozama conference center.

According to the Foundation, the award in the category of Arabic Language and Literature was withheld this year because of "incomplete fulfillment of the prize requirements."

Each year prizes are typically awarded across the five categories.

Prize recipients each receive a gold medal, a certificate hand written in Arabic calligraphy summarizing the laureate's work, and an endowment of SR750,000.

This year's dual recipients in the Science category will share the prize money.

The King Faisal Foundation website describes the Prize's aim as benefiting Muslims in the "present and future," inspiring participation in "all aspects of civilization", and enriching "human knowledge and develop mankind."

Nominations that comply with the Prize's general conditions go through a rigorous three-stage review and short-listing process, which includes specialized experts in each field, international referees, and selection committees that make the final decision in each category.

The selection committees for this year's Laureates conferred and reached their decision in Riyadh on Feb. 1. The prize was inaugurated in 1979 and, with this year's prizes, has been awarded 37 times.

Of the more than 230 King Faisal International Prize laureates to date, 17 have also received Nobel Prizes. The prize was original inaugurated in three fields – Service to Islam, Islamic Studies, and Arabic Literature – with Medicine added in 1981 and Science in 1982. (Saudi Gazette)

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.