Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics

Dhule Municipal Corporation Election 2018: 356 candidates in fray for 73 seats

Besides the candidates from mainstream and prominent regional parties, as many as 26 Muslims are contesting the Dhule local body polls as independents

Wednesday December 5, 2018 4:59 PM, ummid.com News Network

Dhule total candidates contesting 2018 election

Dhule (North Maharashtra): A total of 356 candidates of different parties and independents are in fray for the 73 seats in 19 Prabhags of Dhule Municipal Corporation (DMC) where the polling to elect the new body is scheduled to be held on Sunday December 09, 2018.

According to the final list of candidates released by the election commission after the last date of withdrawal, a total of 82 Muslim candidates are contesting the elections in 08 Prabhags dominated by the members of the community.

Of the 82 Muslims in fray, Congress-NCP alliance has fielded 17 candidates, Samajwadi Party has fielded 09, Rashtriya Samaj Paksh has given its tickets to 11, Shiv Sena has given its tickets to 03 Muslims, BJP has given tickets to 02 Muslims whereas the Muslim League and Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) have fielded 01 Muslim candidate each on their party symbol.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) of Asaduddin Owaisi is contesting the Dhule Municipal Corporation, also known as Dhule Maha Nagar Palika, election for the first time. It has fielded 11 candidates in the 2018 Dhule civic elections. The AIMIM had earlier won elections in the neighbouring Shahada local body election.

Besides the candidates from the mainstream and prominent regional parties, as many as 26 Muslims are contesting the Dhule local body polls as independents.

The election commission had earlier declared Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Ansari Fatema elected unopposed from ward 12A of Dhule Municipal Corporation. She was declared elected unopposed after nomination papers of her three rivals were rejected on technical grounds.

According to election commissioner office, along with Ansari Fatima, Zubaida Afzal Khan of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Ansari Fauzia (Independent) and Shaikh Naseem Shaikh Kareem (Independent) had submitted nomination papers from ward 12A of Dhule Municipal Corporation.

The election commission found the nomination papers of Zubaida Afzal Khan, Ansari Fauzia and Shaikh Naseem invalid on technical grounds and hence rejected them. This left Ansari Fatima the lone contender on the seat.

Ansari Fatema is wife of Noorul Ameen of Congress Minority Cell. Noorul Ameen had sought party ticket for his wife Ansari Fatema from 12A Ward. The party however rejected his demand as the ward was given to NCP as part of the deal between the two parties.

Maharashtra State Election Commissioner J S Saharia had earlier said that polling for the Dhule Municipal Corporation (DMC), also known as Dhule Mahanagar Palika, 2018 election will be held on Sunday December 09, 2018 and counting of votes and announcement of result will be made on Monday December 10, 2018.

The Dhule Municipal Corporation (DMC) has a population of 4,46,094 and total number of voters are 3,29,596. More than 700 candidates had filed nomination papers for the 2018 Dhule civic election. Last date of withdrawal was November 26.

In 2013, Dhule Municipal Corporation (DMC) election was held on Decemver 15, 2013 for 35 wards to elect a total of 70 councillors – two each from a ward.

As per the Dhule Municipal Corporation 2013 results, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 34 seats in the 70-member house. Shiv-Sena won 11 seats. Its alliance partner BJP won just 03 seats whereas the Congress party won 07 seats. On the other hand, the Loksangram Party of local MLA Anil Gote could win just 01 seat.

The Independents had won on 10 seats whereas the Bahujan Samaj Party had won on 01 seat. The Samajwadi Party, which fought the election for the first time from Dhule had won 03 seats in the 2013 Dhule Municipal Corporation (DMC) elections.

A total of 16 Muslims belonging to the NCP, Congress, Samajwadi Party and independents had won in the last election. The polling percent was about 61%.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com