Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Two Muslims contesting in Rajasthan's this assembly seat made sure none of them wins

This is what had happened in the 2017 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in many seats and the same was witnessed again in Rajasthan on Tuesday

Wednesday December 12, 2018 10:55 AM, Zohair M Safwan, ummid.com

WHy Muslims lost in 2018 Rajasthan election

Jaipur: Indian Muslims complain that leading political parties don't give tickets to them and their number in the Indian Parliament and state assemblies is declining day by day. However, the fact is that when they get tickets, so many Muslims from other parties and indpendents contest from the same constituency and diminish the chances of winning the stronger contender from the community.

This is what had happened in the 2017 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in many seats and the same was witnessed again in Rajasthan on Tuesday.

In Tijara assembly constituency of Rajasthan, Congress had fielded Aimamuddin Ahmed Khan. Tijara, situated 48 km to the northeast of Alwar, is the biggest industrial area of Rajasthan and part of the historical Mewat region. It is dominated by Meo Muslims. If voted tactically, it could easily win a Muslim candidate.

However, Aimamuddin Ahmed Khan lost the Tijara assembly seat to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) by a meager 4,457 votes. Aimamuddin Ahmed Khan polled a total of 55,011 votes. But, Fazal Hussain of Samajwadi Party (SP) bagging 22,189 votes played spoiler for him. The result was that he could not match the 59,468 votes polled by Sandeep Kumar of BSP.

Interestingly, Tijara assembly seat was won by Maman Singh in the 2013 Rajasthan Assembly Elections. Singh had got 69,278 votes in 2013. But, in 2018 elections, BJP candidate got 41,345 votes and came 3rd.

Elsewhere in Rajasthan, Sachin Pilot comfortably defeated Yunus Khan of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) by more than 50,00 votes in Tonk assembly seat. Sachin Pilot polled a huge 109,040 votes while Yunus Khan, the only Muslim candidate fielded by the BJP in 2018 Rajasthan Assembly Polls, got 54,861 votes. In 2013, Ajit Singh of BJP had won Tonk vidhan sabha seat bagging 66,845 votes.

According to the final result announced by the Election Commission of India after counting of votes Tuesday Congress won a total of 101 seats in Rajasthan against 73 won by the ruling BJP. Others won 19 seats and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which refused an alliance with Congress before the elections, finished with just 06 seats.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com