Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Elections in 5 states from March 27, Result on May 2

The ECI said it will hold a press conference at 4.30 p.m. in Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan to announce the poll schedule

Friday February 26, 2021 6:00 PM, IANS

State Election 2021 Schedule

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Friday announced the election dates for 824 assembly constituencies that will go to polls in four states and one union territory.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that West Bengal will go to polls in 8 phases and Assam in three phases while Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Puducherry will have a single-phase election.

While elections to the 140-member Kerala Assembly, the 30-member Puducherry Assembly and the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly will be held in a single phase on April 6, polling for the 140-member Assam Assembly will be held on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

Polling to the 294-member West Bengal Assembly will be held in eight phases, on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force immediately after the announcement of the election dates, said Arora

The CEC said that adequate central police forces will be deployed during the elections. All sensitive, critical and vulnerable polling stations have been identified and an adequate number of CAPFs will be deployed.

The ECI in its press conference said that a total of 824 assembly constituencies shall be going for polls during these elections. As many as 18.68 crore electors will cast their votes at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

The counting of votes will be held on May 2.

Live Updates

05:15 pm Elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Assam and Puducherry will be held from March 27 and the results will be announced on May 2, the Election Commission said today.

Bengal will vote in eight phases from March 27.

Assam will also start voting from March 27, in three phases.

Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala will have one round of polling on April 6.

12:15 pm The Election Commission of India on Friday said that it will announce poll dates for Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry.

The ECI said it will hold a press conference at 4.30 p.m. in Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan to announce the schedule for General Election to the Legislative Assemblies of the five states.

The states are due for elections in April-May.

Polls are to be held for 294 seats in West Bengal, 234 seats in Tamil Nadu, 140 seats in Kerala, 126 seats in Assam and 30 seats in Puducherry.


For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com