Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

Asad Owaisi, Manoj Kumar Jha selected for Lokmat Parliamentary Awards

Asaduddin Owaisi and Manoj Kumar Jha both are known for raising in the parliament issues related to the general public

Tuesday March 15, 2022 11:42 PM, ummid.com with inputs from IANS

Lokmat Award

New Delhi: Eight Members of Parliament, including All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) President Asaduddin Owaisi and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Manoj Kumar Jha, are among those selected for the 4th Edition of the Lokmat Parliamentary Awards 2022.

Asaduddin Owaisi and Manoj Kumar Jha both are known for raising in the parliament issues related to the general public.

Owaisi has earlier been selected for 'Sansad Ratna Award' multiple times in the past.

Veteran Congress leader A.K. Antony, BJD's Bhartruhari Mahtab, Trinamool Congress leader Derek O'Brien, NCP's Vandana Chavan, and Tejaswi Surya and Locket Chatterjee - both BJP MPs, are the other Parliamentarians unanimously selected by a 'Board of Jury' for the awards.


Antony and Mahtab have been selected for the 'Lifetime Achievement' category; Chavan and Chatterjee are for the 'Best Women Parliamentarian of the Year' award while Surya and Jha have been chosen in the 'Best Debutant' category.

The Lokmat Parliamentary Awards are given to the outstanding Parliamentarians for their contribution in eight different categories (four each from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) every year, a release from the publication said.

The Board Jury headed by NCP president Sharad Pawar and comprised former Union Ministers Ghulam Nabi Azad; Suresh Prabhu; RSP's N.K. Premachandran; former Rajya Sabha secretary general Yogendra Narayan; founder Editor-in-Chief The Print, Shekhar Gupta; News Director, TV9 Bharatvarsh, Hemant Sharma; Lokmat editorial board chairman and former Rajya Sabha MP Vijay Darda; Senior Editor, Sharad Gupta, and National Editor, Lokmat group Harish Gupta.

The Board of Jury studied the parliamentary contribution for the year 2020 and 2021 of all MPS to select the winners.

The awards function could not be held for two years due to the Covid pandemic.


For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Google News

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com