Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Tripura Assembly Election 2023 Results Live

Tripura Assembly 2023 Election Live Result

Tripura Assembly 2023 Election Result: BJP to rule for 2nd straight term

Counting of votes in Tripura will begin at 08:00 am in the morning with Postal Ballots. Votes registered in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be counted after postal ballots. Read More

Thursday March 2, 2023 10:21 PM, ummid.com News Network

Tripura Assembly 2023 Election Result

Tripura State Election Result 2023 Live Updates: The BJP retained power in Tripura for the second straight term by winning 32 seats, one more than the magic figure of 31 in the 60-member state assembly, for which elections were held on February 16.

According to the results declared by the Election Commission on Thursday, the tribal-based Tipra Motha Party (TMP), which for the first time contested 42 seats on its own, emerged as the second largest party securing 13 seats. The CPI-M won 11 seats while the Congress bagged three.


The CPI-M led Left Front, which contested the elections in a seat-sharing arrangement with the Congress, had fielded 47 candidates while 13 seats were allotted to the Congress.

BJP ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) won the Jolaibari seat in southern Tripura.

In the 2018 Assembly polls, the BJP had won 36 seats, its ally IPTF bagged eight seats while the CPI-M had secured 16 seats.

TMC draws blank

However, the Trinamool Congress, which carried out a high-voltage campaign in Tripura in the run-up to the elections, failed to open its account in the state.

Most of the top BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Manik Saha, his cabinet colleague Ratan Lal Nath and Union minister Pratima Bhowmik, were re-elected from Town Bordowali, Mohanpur and Dhanpur, respectively.

However, Deputy Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Jishnu Dev Varma lost in Charilam against TMP's Subodh Deb Barma by a narrow margin of 858 votes.

Tripura BJP President loses polls

State BJP President and first-time contestant Rajib Bhattacharjee lost in Banamalipur against former state Congress chief Gopal Chandra Roy by a margin of 1,369 votes. In the 2018 Assembly polls, former Chief Minister and BJP leader Biplab Kumar Deb had won from Banamalipur.

State ministers Rampada Jamatia (Bagma), Sushanta Chowdhury (Majlishpur), Ratan Lal Nath (Mohanpur), Ram Prasad Paul (Surjyamaninagar), Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty (Khayerpur), Deputy Speaker Biswa Bandhu Sen (Dharmanagar), veteran BJP leader Surajit Datta (Ramnagar) were also re-elected to the state Assembly.

However, BJP's two sitting MLAs -- Dilip Das (Barjala) and Krishnadhan Das (Bamutia) -- lost against CPI-M candidates.

Key CPI-M, Congress leaders who won

The CPI-M won 11 seats -- in Pratapgarh, Khowai, Kadamtala-Kurt, Sabroom, Sonamura, Bamutia, Hrishamukh, Jubarajnagar, Belonia, Boxanaga and Barjala.

Important CPI-M candidates who won included are state Secretary Jitendra Chowdhury (Sabroom), Sudip Sarkar (Barjala), Dipankar Sen (Belonia and Shyamal Chakraborty (Sonamura).

Congress candidates Sudip Roy Barman, Gopal Chandra Roy and state Congress chief Birajit Sinha were re-elected from Agartala, Banamalipur and Kailashahar, respectively.

Among the important TMP candidates who won were Chitta Ranjan Debbarma (Ambassa), Pathan Lal Jamatia (Ampinagar), Animesh Debbarma (Asharambari) and Paul Dangshu (Karamchara).

As many as 89.95 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise on February 16 to decide the fate of 259 candidates, including 31 women.

02:15 pm: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha retained the Town Bardowali constituency by winning the 2023 state assembly elections counting of votes for which is still underway.

Manik Saha defeated Ashish Kumar Saha of Congress by a margin of 1,180 votes.

"I am feeling elated. After winning the polls, I am getting this certificate so what can be better than this," he said after collecting the winning certificate from the poll officers.

09:15 am: The ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is set for a massive victory in Tirpura where counting of votes in the 2023 assembly elections is underway.

As per the trends at 08:50 am, the BJP is ahead on 40 of the total 60 seats, CPI M and its allies are ahead on 5 seats, and TMP is projected to win 5 seats.

02:00 am Counting of votes cast in the recently-held Assembly elections in Tripura will take place today i.e. Thursday March 02, 2023 under three-tier security measures involving the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF), poll officials said.

The poll officials said that prohibitory orders under 144 Cr Pc have been promulgated in and around all the locations of the counting centers as a precautionary measure.

Final Result by today afternoon

Counting of votes will begin at 08:00 am in the morning with Postal Ballots. Votes registered in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be counted after postal ballots.

The final election result of all 60 seats - candidate wise as well as constituency wise, were expected to be declared by today afternoon. However, party wise and candidate wise trends will start coming by 09:00 am today.

Assembly elections were held on February 16 in Tripura, where 89.95 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise.

Voter turnout was 91.82 per cent and 78.58 per cent in 2013 and 2018 Assembly elections, respectively.

Officials said that votes will be counted in 60 counting centers in 21 locations across Tripura.

At least 60 opposition party workers were injured after the ruling party workers allegedly attacked them in Gomati, Sepahijala, South Tripura and West Tripura districts.

The main opposition CPI-M alleged that the BJP workers evicted their candidates' polling agents in more than 25 polling stations in four districts.

259 candidates in fray

The CEO said that a total of 259 candidates, including 31 women, are in the fray for the election to the 60-member House, and of them, the highest number of candidates (55) has been fielded by the ruling BJP, followed by the CPI-M (43), Tipra Motha Party (42), Trinamool Congress (28), and Congress (13).

A total of 58 Independent candidates and 14 nominees from various smaller parties are also contesting the elections.

In all, 28.14 lakh voters, including 13.99 lakh women, were eligible to cast their votes in Thursday's balloting.

Tripura Election Result 2018

The BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) had won Tripura in 2018, storming into the Left's Northeast bastion winning 43 of the total 60 seats with a vote share of over 40 per cent.

The CPI (M), which had been in power for three decades, came a distant second with 15 seats. The Congress was wiped out in an election it had given up on right in the beginning.


For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Google News

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com