Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Millions vote in Rajasthan; BJP, Congress claim victory
Sunday December 1, 2013 6:27 PM, IANS

About 25 million people voted across Rajasthan Sunday to pick a new 200-seat Rajasthan assembly in keenly fought elections which both the Congress and the BJP claimed they would win.

More than 60 percent of the state's 40 million electorate had voted by 4 p.m., and the polling percentage could touch the 2008 tally of 66 when the final figures are calculated after polling ended at 5, officials said.

Balloting took place in 199 constituencies Sunday, with 2,087 candidates in the race. Polling has been postponed in Churu to Dec 13 following the death of a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate.

Voting was largely peaceful barring stray incidents of clashes between rival political activists. Police fired in the air at some places and used batons to break up the mobs.

Clashes were reported from Dausa, Kekri, Sawai Madhopur, Thana Gaji and some other places.

In 2008, Rajasthan recorded 66.25 percent voting. The Congress came to power then.

"I am confident the Congress will return to power with a thumping majority," boasted Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, who was among those who voted early.

Gehlot dismissed claims that BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's aggressive campaign would make a difference to the outcome.

"I don't see any Modi wave or factor here in Rajasthan," he said.

Former chief minister and BJP state president Vasundhara Raje was equally confident of her party's victory.

"People want to get rid of the Congress and are hungry for development. I am confident the BJP will come to power," she said.

The Congress and the BJP are contesting in all the seats while the National Peoples Party (NPP), led by Meena community leader Kirori Lal Meena, has put up candidates in 150 and the BSP in over 100 seats.

The state is witnessing a keen tussle between the BJP, which is determined to return to power, and the Congress, which is hoping for a second straight win.

In the outgoing house, the Congress held 102 seats and the BJP 79.

Mayawati's BSP and NPP are trying to make a dent in the vote bank of both the major parties. The BSP won six seats in 2008 but all six legislators joined the Congress.

Electronic voting machines broke down in some places. They were quickly repaired or replaced.

The vote count in Rajasthan will take place Dec 8 along with Delhi, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh went to the polls last month and Delhi will see polling Wednesday.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.