Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Life & Style
Maharashtra Urdu Academy announces annual awards
Tuesday October 8, 2013 5:22 PM, Staff Reporter

The Maharashtra Urdu Academy Tuesday announced the names of 92 Urdu scholars, academicians, critics, historians, teachers and journalists from all over Maharashtra who will be conferred its annual awards in different fields for the year 2011 and 2012 later this month.

The annual awards, conferred on literary figures for their outstanding performance in different fields, are part of the academy's efforts for the promotion of Urdu language.

The awards are conferred every year after a thorough check and strict scrutiny of an individual's work in the respective fields.

"The awards are conferred on the recommendations of the members of the academy. Each member sends his or her recommendations from respective areas. These names are then sent to the core committee for its consideration", President of the Maharashtra Urdu Academy Khurshid Siddiqui said while talking to

He also said that the awards to the authors are given based on the recommendations of a panel of judges after a thorough and critical reading of their books and research work.

The complete list of the award is as under:
For the year 2011
Sant Gyaneshwer National Award of 51,000 to Dr Abdus Sattar Dalwi, Wali Dakani Award of 30,000 to Dr Rafeea Shabnam Aabdi, Siraj Aurangabadi State Award of 25,000 to Prof Shah Husain Nehri, Setu Madhurao Pagadi Marathi Translation prize of 25,000 to Aslam Mirza.
In new writers' category awards are given to Mohd Aslam Pervez (Saher Ludhiyanawi Award of 10,000), Muntejeebuddin Muniruddin, Shamim Ejaz, Hasan Aalam Rizvi, Saeed Ah Khan each will be conferred Haroon Rasheed Awards in Journalism.

Renowned calligrapher of Malegaon Ramzan Faizee has been selected for Layout & Design award. Mohd Aminuddin, Qazi Asifuddin Danish, Sheree Dalvi, Khizar Ahmed Khan, Ruknuddin Wadekar, Bashir Pervaz, Shakeel Khan, Azhar Shakeel, Mohd Rizwan Khan, Yaqubur Rehman are selected for special awards.

In teachers' category awards will be given to Raje Bagban, Dr. Ab Aziz Irfan, Mohd Yunus Ansari, Saikr Shehnaz Bano Ali Mazhar, Ather Jameel, Tasneem Ansari, Aaftab Ah Khan, Zafar Ah Khan, Maher Rehman and Sultan Ah Raees Ah.

In research category, Salim Shehzad, Dr Mehmood Hasan Allahabadi and Khaliquzzam Nusrat will be conferred the awards. Raoof Sadique, Aseer Ummedi, Sandip Gupte and Arshad Meenanagari are selected for the awards in poetry section.M. Mubeen, Ansari Yaqub Hasrat, Mukhtar Yusufi and Mehshar Faizabadi are selected for their literary work for the children.

For the year 2012
Sant Gyaneshwer National Award of 51,000 to Sampoor Singh Kalra Gulzar, Wali Dakani Award of 30,000 to Shamim Tarique, Siraj Aurangabadi State Award of 25,000 to Kaleem Zafar, Setu Madhurao Pagadi Marathi Translation prize of 25,000 to Ibrahim Afghan.

Dr Rehan Ansari is selected for Sahir Ludhyanawi Award, Mohd Ziyuddin, Anwarul Haq Khan, Dr Lateef Subhani and Rasheed Qasmi are selected for Harood Rasheed Awards in Journalism.

Dr. Syed Shujaat Ali, Sukoom Jaunpuri, Dr. Mustafa Punjabi, Syed Asghar Alis Usman Ali, Shaikh Rehman Shaikh Muneer, Adv Zubair Azmi, Syed Iqbal, Munwwar Sultana, Tajdar Taj and Iqbal Patani are selected for special awards for the year 2012.

In teachers' category, Huma Bargir, Maimuna Shaikh, Dr Yahya Jameel, Mehek Nur Mohammad, Ateequr Rehman, Aisha Kausar, Khan Abdullah, Abdul Haq, Shaikh Niyazuddin and Anwar Ah Khan. Mohd Asadullah, Qazi Mushtaqu Ah and Ashfaque Anjum are selected the 2012 award for their research work.

In poetry, Shabbir Aasif, Zafar Gorakhpuri, Ishrat Jalandhari and Mazhar Siddiqui are selected for the award. For the literature of children, Bao Sartaj, Basheer Sholapuri and Raheem Raza, whereas Shab Ansari, Sultan Subhani, Saddaqua Nawab Seher, Farzana Asad, Anees Chishti and Syed Naushad Baigam are selected for special awards.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.