Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India

President Election Live

Droupadi Murmu is India's New President

A polling booth has been setup inside the Parliament premises where Members of Parliament will cast their votes

Thursday July 21, 2022 11:50 PM, IANS

President Election Live

President Election Live: NDA candidate Droupadi Murmu secured victory in the Presidential poll on Thursday after the third round of counting as out of the 3,219 valid votes counted so far, she bagged 2,161 while Opposition's nominee Yashwant Sinha got 1,058.

"I heartily congratulate Droupadi Murmu on her victory in the Presidential Election 2022. I hope -- indeed, every Indian hopes -- that as the 15th President of India, she functions as the Custodian of the Constitution without fear or favour. I join my fellow countrymen in extending best wishes to her," said Sinha who is backed by the Opposition parties.

Murmu and Sinha were pitted against each other in the contest. It emerged that votes were clearly stacked in Murmu's favour.


Keeping in view the support extended by various parties, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Murmu had a clear edge over Opposition's Sinha.

Voting for the Presidential polls concluded on Monday (July 18)with over 99 per cent of voting.

July 21 05:00 PM: The first round of counting of the Presidential poll on Thursday showed that Draupadi Murmu is far ahead of her counterpart Yashwant Sinha.

The number of votes in favour of Murmu was 540 and for Yashwant Sinha it was 208 out of a total 748 valid votes. Total value of valid votes stands at 5,23,600.

Counting of votes for the Presidential poll started on Thursday at Parliament House in New Delhi and it is likely to be concluded by evening.

Ruling NDA's Draupadi Murmu and Opposition backed Yashwant Sinha are pitted against each other in the contest, with votes clearly stacked in Murmu's favour.

If elected, Murmu will be the first tribal woman to occupy the top constitutional post in the country.

July 18, 2022 10:30 AM: Voting to elect the new President of India began on Monday in Parliament.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the early MPs to cast his vote at the polling booth inside the Parliament premises.

Talking to IANS Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi said, "The NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu is going to win this election with a record vote and with a huge margin."

08:30 AM: Polling for the Presidential election will begin on Monday in the Parliament and respective state Assemblies to elect a new President.

Draupadi Murmu is the NDA candidate, who is contesting against Yashwant Sinha, supported by the Opposition parties. The voting will begin at 10 am.

A polling booth has been setup inside the Parliament premises where Members of Parliament will cast their votes.

The Rajya Sabha's Secretary General is the Returning Officer for this election.

How president is elected in India

The President is elected by members of the Electoral College consisting of elected Members of Parliament and that of all the state Assemblies, including National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Nominated Members of Parliament, state Assemblies and Members of Legislative Council are not eligible to vote.

Total Vote for President Election

A total of 776 Members of Parliament and 4,033 MLAs will vote in the Presidential elections.

The total value of votes is 10,86,431, of which votes of MLAs are 5,43,231 and MPs are 5,43,200.

The Presidential elections in 2017 were held on July 17 and the result was announced on July 20.


For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download ummid.com App.

Select Language To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic.

Google News

Share this page

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.ummid.com