Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
BJP majority Maharashtra assembly will have 10 Muslim MLAs
Monday October 20, 2014 10:16 AM, Staff Reporter

The newly elected Maharashtra assembly will have 10 Muslim legislators, one less than the last time, it is found after completion of the vote count in all the 288 assembly seats of the state.

Waris Pathan
[Advocate Waris Pathan of AIMIM who won the 2014 elections from Byculla, Mumbai after winning the elections Sunday October 19, 2014.]

According to the result announced by the state election commission Sunday, the Maharashtra house will have a total of 123 BJP MLAs followed by 63 MLAs of Shiv Sena, 42 of Congress, 41 of the NCP, 03 of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi and 02 MLAs of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and others belonging to smaller parties..

The ten Muslim MLAs elected in the 2014 state elections are: Amin Patel (Mumbadevi), Arif Naseem Khan (Chandiwali), Aslam Shaikh (Malad), Abdus Sattar (Sillod), Asif Shaikh (Malegaon - Central), Abus Asim Azmi (Mankhurd), Hasan Mushrif (Kagal), Advocate Waris Pathan (Byculla), Imtiyaz Jaleel (Aurangabad - Central) and Pasha Patel (Ausa, Latur).

While Amin Patel (Mumbadevi), Arif Naseem Khan (Chandiwali), Aslam Shaikh (Malad), Abdus Sattar (Sillod), Asif Shaikh - five of the total 10 Muslim MLAs elected to the state assembly belong to Congress, two MLAs Imtiyaz Jaleel (Aurangabad - Central) and Advocate Waris Pathan (Byculla) belong to the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

Abus Asim Azmi (Mankhurd) is the Maharashtra president of Samajwadi Party (SP) and Hasan Mushrif (Kagal) has won the election as the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate.

Pasha Patel, who has won the election from the Ausa assembly seat in Latur, is the only BJP MLA who is a Muslim. Pasha Patel had represented this seat as the BJP MLA earlier also.

Patel began his political career with the Shetkari Sanathana and was affiliated with the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP. Later, during 2001, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party BJP) due to differences with Sharad Joshi.

Asif Shaikh - ex-mayor of Malegaon and president of the local Congress Comittee, Imtiyaz Jaleel - senior correspondent associate with NDTV and Waris Pathan - advocate by profession have been elected to the state assembly for the first time.

The number of Muslim MLAs would have been more had the Congress and NCP not broken their alliance before elections. Results show in Bhiwandi Shoeb Guddu of Congress was leading however due to the votes taken by Rashid Tahir Momin of the NCP he lost the election.

Other losers are Baba Siddiqui, Nawab Malik and Bashir Musa Patel. All three are experienced, former MLAs and senior leaders of their respective parties. They lost the election becuase their parties could not transfer the non-Muslim votes in their favour.

The results once again showed that while the Congress and other secular parties win the elections on Muslim votes, when the time comes non-Muslim voters do not vote for Muslim candidates belonging to these parties.

The hallmark of this election however is the emergence of the Hyderabad based All Indian Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) - the party led by MP Asaduddin Owaisi in the Maharashtra politics. The AIMIM, which contested the Maharashtra election for the first time has, won two seats. The party already has 11 MLAs in Telangana assembly.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.